The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Championship - Men's Golf

36 days ago
Photo: Steve Colquitt

2018 SEC Men's Golf Championship
Sea Island Course - St. Simons Island, GA
April 25-29, 2018

April 25-29, 2018 - Sea Island Golf Club, Seaside Course (Par 70) St. Simons Island, Ga.
Wednesday, April 25 Practice Round 
Round One
Thursday, April 26 Round Two TBA
Friday, April 27 Round Three TBA
Saturday, April 28 Quarterfinals (Match Play)
Semi-Finals (Match Play)
Sunday, April 29 Championship (Match Play) TBA SEC Network

This marks the 18th year for the Southeastern Conference Championship to be contested on the Sea Island Golf Club's Seaside Course. The SEC has conducted its annual championship on St. Simons Island since 2001 (Seaside Course 2001-2007, 2010-2017; Frederica Golf Club 2008-2009). Since 1927, the Sea Island Golf Club has enjoyed a legacy as one of America's premier golf clubs.

The 2018 event will mark the second consecutive in which the championship will extend to a fifth day, with Match Play on Saturday, April 28 and Sunday, April 29. Three rounds of stroke play will occur the opening three days of the championship.

Rated No. 1 in the U.S. among the "World's 50 Best Golf Hotels" by Golf Digest Index, Sea Island Golf Club offers three exceptional 18-hole championship courses. The Seaside Course, home to the PGA TOUR's McGladrey Classic, is a links course graced by majestic ocean vistas in the tradition of St. Andrews.

The Seaside Course was totally reconfigured by Tom Fazio and reopened in October 1999. The new Seaside Course is the brilliant blending of Colt & Allison's original nine-hole Seaside and Joe Lee's Marshside nine into one seamless, contemporary 18-hole golf course. Tidal creeks, dunes, saltmarshes and St. Simons Sound frame the course which plays fast, firm and fun in the tradition of legendary Scottish links.

The course will play a par-70 at 6,898 yards.

The SEC Men's Golf Championship has been played at Sea Island since 2001, with Georgia winning six of the 17 championships. Alabama has won four times, Florida has won twice, while Auburn, Kentucky, LSU, Tennessee and Vanderbilt have each won one conference tournament title during that time.

The Vanderbilt men's golf team secured the program's first Southeastern Conference Championship last season at the Sea Island Golf Club. The Commodores were perfect at the SECs as they finished first in the stroke play competition, then went 3-0 in match play. On the final day, Vanderbilt edged Texas A&M 3-2 as the clinching match needed 23 holes to decide it.