The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

AJ Reed and Hannah Rogers Named Roy F. Kramer SEC Athletes of the Year

1205 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC Staff

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - Kentucky baseball player AJ Reed and Florida softball player Hannah Rogers have been named the 2013-2014 Roy F. Kramer SEC Male and Female Athletes of the Year by a vote of the league's athletics directors, Commissioner Mike Slive announced today.

"AJ and Hannah are true examples of outstanding student-athletes. They have competed at the highest level of collegiate athletics, and through their hard work, dedication and commitment to excellence, have been successful in their endeavors," said SEC Commissioner Mike Slive. "They are fine representatives of their universities and this conference. The SEC is proud to honor them for their accomplishments."

A native of Terre Haute, Ind., Reed was named national player of the year by Collegiate Baseball and the ABCA, the College Player of the Year by Baseball America, and won the 2014 Dick Howser Trophy, presented by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association at the College World Series. He also won the John Olerud Award, given to the top two-way player in the nation.

The consensus first-team All‐America and SEC Player of the Year had one of the top seasons in the history of college baseball as a two-way star. He led the nation in homers (23), slugging percentage (.735) and OPS (1.211), while also leading the SEC in pitching wins (12), RBI (73), walks (49), total bases (164) and on-base percentage (.476). He is the first player in league history to lead the conference in homers and pitching wins.

A five-time National Player of the Week honoree, also winning SEC Player of the Week twice and SEC Pitcher of the Week once, he hit more homers by himself than 185 schools in college baseball, including six SEC schools.

Rogers led Florida softball to its first national championship in 2014 and was named the Women's College World Series (WCWS) Most Outstanding Player after factoring in all five games (four complete-game wins, three shutouts, and one save). The Gators went undefeated at the WCWS, outscoring opponents 32-6 in the five games played in Oklahoma City. The Lake Wales, Fla., native earned a complete-game victory in all seven starts she made during the NCAA Tournament and finished her Gator tenure as the NCAA active career leader in wins (127). She was named a Third Team NFCA All-American, becoming the first Florida softball player to earn All&-America honors four times. She also earned All-SEC recognition in each of her four seasons.

This past season, she won 30 games (30-8) for the third time in her career, compiling a 15-7 record against ranked opponents, including a six-game winning streak in such contests to close the season. She completed her Florida career as the second winningest pitcher in program history (Stacey Nelson - 136).

The other male nominees were: Robby Shelton, Alabama (golf); Jarrion Lawson, Arkansas (track & field); Tre Mason, Auburn (football); Scottie Wilbekin, Florida (basketball); Aaron Murray, Georgia (football); Aaron Nola, LSU (baseball); Nik Scholtz, Ole Miss (tennis); Brandon McBride, Mississippi State (track & field); Michael Sam, Missouri (football); Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina (football); Hunter Reese, Tennessee (tennis); Deon Lendore, Texas A&M (track & field); Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt (football).

The other female nominees were: Kim Jacob, Alabama (gymnastics); Katherine Grable, Arkansas (gymnastics); Branndi Melero, Auburn (softball); Laura Ryan, Georgia (swimming & diving); Dezerea Bryant, Kentucky (track & field); Rheagan Courville, LSU (gymnastics); Rafaelle Souza, Ole Miss (soccer); Ally McDonald, Mississippi State (golf); Molly Kreklow, Missouri (volleyball); Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina (basketball); Madison Shipman, Tennessee (softball); Breeja Larson, Texas A&M (swimming); Simone Charley, Vanderbilt (track & field/soccer).

The SEC Athletes of the Year Awards were first presented in 1976 for men and 1984 for women. The award was renamed the Roy F. Kramer Athletes of the Year in 2004 to honor the former commissioner who served the conference from 1990-2002.

Past recipients of the SEC Athlete of the Year Award include: 2013 - Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M (football) and Allison Schmitt, Georgia (swimming); 2012 - Anthony Davis, Kentucy (basketball) and Brooke Pancake, Alabama (golf); 2011 - John-Patrick Smith, Tennessee (tennis) and Kayla Hoffman, Alabama (gymnastics); 2010 - Mark Ingram, Alabama (football) and Susan Jackson, LSU (gymnastics); 2009 - Tim Tebow, Florida (football) and Courtney Kupets, Georgia (gymnastics); 2008 - Tim Tebow, Florida (football) and Candace Parker, Tennessee (basketball); 2007 - David Price, Vanderbilt (baseball) and Monica Abbott, Tennessee (softball); 2006 - Xavier Carter, LSU (track & field) and Seimone Augustus, LSU (basketball); 2005 - Ryan Lochte, Florida (swimming) and Kirsty Coventry, Auburn (swimming); 2004 - Alistair Cragg, Arkansas (cross country/track) and Jeana Rice, Alabama (gymnastics); 2003 - Alistair Cragg, Arkansas (cross country/track) and LaToya Thomas, Mississippi State (basketball); 2002 - Walter Davis, LSU (track & field) and Andree' Pickens, Alabama (gymnastics); 2001 - Matias Boeker, Georgia (tennis) and Amy Yoder Begley, Arkansas (cross country/track); 2000 - Kip Bouknight , South Carolina (baseball) and Kristy Kowal, Georgia (swimming); 1999 - Tim Couch, Kentucky (football) and Chamique Holdsclaw, Tennessee (basketball); 1998 - Peyton Manning, Tennessee (football) and Chamique Holdsclaw, Tennessee (basketball); 1997 - Danny Wuerffel, Florida (football) and Trinity Johnson, South Carolina (softball); 1996 - Danny Wuerffel, Florida (football) and Saudia Roundtree, Georgia (basketball); 1995 - Todd Helton, Tennessee (baseball) and Jenny Hansen, Kentucky (gymnastics); 1994 - Corliss Williamson, Arkansas (basketball) and Nicole Haislett, Florida (swimming); 1993 - Jamal Mashburn, Kentucky (basketball) and Nicole Haislett, Florida (swimming); 1992 - Shaquille O'Neal, LSU (basketball) and Vicki Goetze, Georgia (golf); 1991 - Shaquille O'Neal, LSU (basketball) and Daedra Charles, Tennessee (basketball); 1990 - Alec Kessler, Georgia (basketball) and Dee Foster, Alabama (gymnastics); 1989 - Derrick Thomas, Alabama (football) and Bridgette Gordon, Tennessee (basketball); 1988 - Will Perdue, Vanderbilt (basketball) and Dara Torres, Florida (swimming); 1987 - Cornelius Bennett, Alabama (football) and Lillie Leatherwood-King, Alabama (track and field); 1986 - Bo Jackson, Auburn (football) and Jennifer Gillom, Ole Miss (basketball); 1985 - Will Clark, Mississippi State (baseball) and Penney Hauschild, Alabama (gymnastics); 1984 - Terry Hoage, Georgia (football) and Tracy Caulkins, Florida (swimming); 1983 - Herschel Walker, Georgia (football/track and field); 1982 - Buck Belue, Georgia (football/baseball); 1981 - Rowdy Gaines, Auburn (swimming); 1980 - Kyle Macy, Kentucky (basketball); 1979 - Reggie King, Alabama (basketball); 1978 - Jack Givens, Kentucky (basketball); 1977 - Larry Seivers, Tennessee (football); and 1976 - Harvey Glance, Auburn (track and field).