The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2014 SEC women's soccer awards announced

1630 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Courtesy of Kentucky

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Texas A&M head coach G Guerrieri, Alabama forward Laura Lee Smith, Texas A&M midfielder Shea Groom, Kentucky defender Arin Gilliland and South Carolina forward Savannah McCaskill headline the 2014 Southeastern Conference Women's Soccer Awards announced Sunday.

Guerrieri was named SEC Coach of the Year while Smith earned SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors. Groom was named SEC Offensive Player of the Year. Gilliland was tabbed SEC Defensive Player of the Year. McCaskill garnered SEC Freshman of the Year while earning second team All-SEC honors.

It is the second consecutive SEC Coach of the Year honor for Guerrieri. Texas A&M finished the season on top of the league standings with a 9-1-1 record. It is the second straight SEC championship for the Aggies, who shared the title with Florida in 2013.

Smith, who owns a 3.95 grade point average in English was tabbed SEC Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The Jackson, Miss., native led the Crimson Tide with 19 points on seven goals and five assists this season.

Groom becomes the first Texas A&M player to earn SEC Offensive Player of the Year honors. The Liberty, Mo., native led the Aggies with 13 goals on the season, including eight in league play.

Gilliland earned SEC Defensive Player of the Year honors after leading a Kentucky defense that allowed just one goal in its last five matches. The Wildcats surrendered an SEC-low eight goals in league play.

McCaskill joins teammate Sabrina D'Angelo as the only Gamecocks to earn SEC Freshman of the Year honors after leading USC with 15 points on the season.

2014 SEC Women's Soccer Awards

First Team All-SEC
Forward: Bianca Brinson, Texas A&M
Forward: Simone Charley, Vanderbilt
Forward: Savannah Jordan, Florida
Forward: Annie Kunz, Texas A&M
Midfielder: Kaysie Clark, Missouri
Midfielder: Shea Groom, Texas A&M
Midfielder: Gabby Seiler, Georgia
Midfielder: Havana Solaun, Florida
Defender: Tessa Andujar, Florida
Defender: Arin Gilliland, Kentucky
Defender: Taylor Leach, South Carolina
Defender: Meghan Streight, Texas A&M
Defender: Christen Westphal, Florida
Goalkeeper: Sabrina D'Angelo, South Carolina

Second Team All-SEC
Forward: Marion Crowder, Georgia
Forward: Jade Klump, Kentucky
Forward: Savannah McCaskill, South Carolina
Forward: Laura Lee Smith, Alabama
Midfielder: Kelley Monogue, Texas A&M
Midfielder: Courtney Raetzman, Kentucky
Midfielder: Casie Ramsier, Auburn
Midfielder: Reagan Russell, Missouri
Midfielder: Merel van Dongen, Alabama
Defender: Janae Cousineau, Texas A&M
Defender: Claire Falknor, Florida
Defender: Kala Faulkner, Auburn
Defender: Candace Johnson, Missouri
Goalkeeper: Emily Rusk, Alabama

All-Freshman Team
Carlyn Baldwin, Tennessee
Jorian Baucom, LSU
Taylor Braun, Kentucky
Kaitlyn Clark, Missouri
Kristen Dodson, Auburn
Mallory Eubanks, Mississippi State
Kelsey Killean, Georgia
Savannah McCaskill, South Carolina
McKayla Paulson, Texas A&M
Lydia Simmons, Vanderbilt
Alexis Urch, LSU

Coach of the Year
G Guerrieri, Texas A&M

Offensive Player of the Year
Shea Groom, Texas A&M

Defensive Player of the Year
Arin Gilliland, Kentucky

Freshman of the Year
Savannah McCaskill, South Carolina

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Laura Lee Smith, Alabama