The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

The SEC ties national record for bowl wins

1361 days ago
SEC staff
Photo: SEC Staff

The Southeastern Conference concluded the 2014 football season earlier today, with the Florida Gators claiming a 28-20 victory over East Carolina in the Birmingham Bowl. With the win, the SEC ties its own NCAA single-season record for bowl wins by a conference with seven. The SEC leads the nation in bowl victories this postseason, while second among the Power Five conferences in bowl winning percentage in the first year of the College Football Playoff era.

"I've been pleased to see the anticipation and excitement surrounding the first year of the College Football Playoff," said SEC commissioner Mike Slive. "The success of the semifinals was evidenced not only by the attendance at the games but also the high television ratings they registered.

"My congratulations go to Oregon and Ohio State for reaching the championship game. The SEC had a remarkable and unprecedented run of eight straight years in the title game and I look forward to seeing SEC teams compete in the CFP for many years to come."

The SEC also won seven postseason bowl games in 2007 and 2013. The SEC is 56-30 (.651) in bowl games since 2006, winning six or more bowl games each year but 2010, when the league finished 5-5. The SEC sent a NCAA-record 12 teams to participate in postseason bowl games in 2014 and has sent no less than eight teams to post-season bowls in each of the last nine seasons.

The SEC was represented by three teams in New Year's Six/Access Bowls this season (Alabama - AllState Sugar; Ole Miss - Chick-fil-A Peach; Mississippi State-Capital One Orange), with the Crimson Tide appearing in the semifinal of the inaugural College Football Playoff.