The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

25th SEC Champ Game to honor former MVPs

831 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

SEC Championship Game Central

Birmingham, Ala. - The Southeastern Conference will honor former championship game Most Valuable Players as part of the 25th SEC Championship Game in Atlanta, Ga., on December 3, the SEC announced on Tuesday.

Many former MVPs will be on hand and will be recognized at various points during the 2016 SEC Championship Game, including Antonio Langham, Danny Wuerffel, Peyton Manning, David Greene, Percy Harvin, Tim Tebow and many others. Wuerffel, the 1996 Heisman Trophy winner, is the only two-time winner of SEC Championship Game MVP accolades.

One MVP is chosen following each SEC Championship Game as selected by a vote of the media. Of the 23 players who have been named an SEC Championship Game MVP, four have won the Heisman Trophy, 11 have led their team to a national title and 20 have gone on to play in the NFL.

The SEC will also continue its tradition of recognizing a 'Legend' from each of the SEC institutions, a class of 14 former stars who excelled on the gridiron and helped write the rich history of the sport at their respective institutions. The 14 Legends were previously announced and will be honored at several events during the course of the Championship weekend.

Both the MVPs and the Legends will participate in events at SEC FanFare which will be held Friday, December 2 from 2-8 p.m. ET and Saturday, December 3 from 9 a.m.-4 p.m. ET at the Georgia World Congress Center, Halls C1-C3. Admission is $10 for adults and $5 for children under 12 years of age. FanFare tickets can be purchased at the door. The SEC Network's pregame show, SEC Nation, will broadcast live from SEC FanFare on game day.

The SEC Championship Game was born as a result of 1992 conference expansion, which saw Arkansas and South Carolina become the first members added in SEC history.

The SEC, along with AMB Sports & Entertainment (AMBSE) and the Georgia World Congress Center Authority (GWCCA), recently announced an agreement to host the SEC Championship Game at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta beginning in 2017 and continuing through 2026. The new agreement allows the SEC the option of adding up to two successive five-year extensions.

The Georgia Dome has hosted the SEC Championship Game for 22 years beginning in 1994, with capacity crowds in the last 20 consecutive years. By the end of the new agreement, including options, the Championship will have been played in Atlanta a total of 43 years. Mercedes-Benz Stadium is set to open in 2017, with 2016 set to be the final SEC Championship Game held in the Georgia Dome.

SEC Football Championship Game MVP History
Year MVP
1992 Antonio Langham, Alabama**
1993 Terry Dean, Florida**
1994 Ellis Johnson, Florida**
1995 Danny Wuerffel, Florida**
1996 Danny Wuerffel, Florida**
1997 Peyton Manning, Tennessee**
1998 Peerless Price, Tennessee**
1999 Freddie Milons, Alabama
2000 Rex Grossman, Florida
2001 Matt Mauck, LSU**
2002 David Greene, Georgia**
2003 Justin Vincent, LSU**
2004 Jason Campbell, Auburn**
2005 D.J. Shockley, Georgia**
2006 Percy Harvin, Florida**
2007 Ryan Perrilloux, LSU**
2008 Tim Tebow, Florida**
2009 Greg McElroy, Alabama
2010 Cam Newton, Auburn
2011 Tyrann Mathieu, LSU
2012 Eddie Lacy, Alabama
2013 Tre Mason, Auburn
2014 Blake Sims, Alabama**
2015 Derrick Henry, Alabama**

** Denotes will be in attendance at the 25th SEC Championship Game