The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Seven from SEC claim cross country regional awards

822 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Arkansas Athletics

Birmingham, Ala. -- Seven Southeastern Conference student-athletes and coaches earned cross country regional awards, according to an announcement Tuesday by the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

Missouri's Karissa Schweizer and Arkansas' Devin Clark were named Athletes of the Year for the Midwest and South Central Regions, respectively.

Five SEC coaches claimed coach of the year honors: Ole Miss' Ryan Vanhoy (South - Men), Arkansas' Chris Bucknam (South Central - Men), Missouri's Marc Burns (Midwest - Women), Mississippi State's Houston Franks (South - Women) and Arkansas' Lance Harter (South Central - Women).

The NCAA Championships take place Saturday at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center in Terre Haute, Ind. The women's race will begin at 11 a.m. ET, followed by the men's race at noon.

The SEC teams participating include the Arkansas and Ole Miss men, and the Arkansas, Ole Miss, Mississippi State and Missouri women.

Participating men's individuals include Robbie Farnham-Rose (Alabama), Antibahs Kosgei (Alabama) and Jacob Thomson (Kentucky). Participating women's individuals include Veronica Eder (Auburn), Sara Tsai (Vanderbilt) and Katy Kune (Kentucky).

In the latest national rankings released Monday, the Arkansas men are ranked sixth, while Ole Miss is No. 11. The Arkansas women are ranked ninth, Missouri is No. 13, Mississippi State is No. 19 and Ole Miss is No. 21. The Kentucky women are among teams receiving votes.

2016 Cross Country Regional Awards (SEC Honorees):

Women's Athlete of the Year
Karrisa Schweizer, Missouri (Midwest)v Devin Clark, Arkansas (South Central)

Men's Coach of the Year
Ryan Vanhoy, Ole Miss (South)
Chris Bucknam, Arkansas (South Central)

Women's Coach of the Year
Marc Burns, Missouri (Midwest)
Houston Franks, Mississippi State (South)
Lance Harter, Arkansas (South Central)