The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC lands 10 on Bowerman preseason watch lists

501 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Kentucky Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Southeastern Conference track and field athletes comprised half of the Bowerman Award Preseason Watch Lists, it was announced by the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

A total of 10 SEC student-athletes were named to the preseason watch lists for the award presented annually to the most outstanding male and female collegiate track and field athletes in the nation.

The four SEC student-athletes named to the Bowerman Men's Preseason Watch List are Tennessee's Christian Coleman, Florida's Eric Futch, Mississippi State's Curtis Thompson and Texas A&M's Lindon Victor. The last three male winners have been from the SEC.

SEC student-athletes comprised 60 percent of the Bowerman Women's Preseason Watch List. Those athletes include Alabama's Quanesha Burks, Kentucky's Jasmine Camacho-Quinn, Georgia's Keturah Orji, Ole Miss' Raven Saunders, Arkansas' Lexi Weeks and Georgia's Kendell Williams.

The Bowerman debuted in 2009 and is named for former Oregon track and field and cross country coach Bill Bowerman.

The Bowerman Men's Preseason Watch List:

  • Edward Cheserek, Oregon
  • Christian Coleman, Tennessee
  • Eric Futch, Florida
  • Filip Mihaljevic, Virginia
  • Michael Norman, USC
  • Byron Robinson, Texas
  • Curtis Thompson, Mississippi State
  • Lindon Victor, Texas A&M
  • Rudy Winkler, Cornell
  • Henry Wynne, Virginia

Also Receiving Votes: Cameron Burrell, Houston; Michael Cherry, LSU; Trey Culver, Texas Tech; Randall Cunningham, USC; Ioannis Kyriazis, Texas A&M; Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, LSU; Nick Percy, Nebraska.

The Bowerman Women's Preseason Watch List:

  • Quanesha Burks, Alabama
  • Jasmine Camacho-Quinn, Kentucky
  • Keturah Orji, Georgia
  • Raevyn Rogers, Oregon
  • Raven Saunders, Ole Miss
  • Molly Seidel, Notre Dame
  • Deajah Stevens, Oregon
  • Ariana Washington, Oregon
  • Lexi Weeks, Arkansas
  • Kendell Williams, Georgia

Also Receiving Votes: Hannah Cunliffe (Oregon); Teahna Daniels (Texas); Karissa Schweizer (Missouri).