The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Eight SEC athletes named to Bowerman watch list

479 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: UGA Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Eight Southeastern Conference track and field athletes have been named to the Men's and Women's February Watch Lists for The Bowerman, collegiate track and field's highest honor, according to an announcement by the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association.

A total of 20 student-athletes nationwide - 10 for each gender - were named to the watch lists.

The four SEC men's student-athletes named to The Bowerman February Watch List are Tennessee's Christian Coleman, Florida's Grant Holloway, Mississippi State's Curtis Thompson and Texas A&M's Lindon Victor. Florida's KeAndre Bates, Clayton Brown and Eric Futch and LSU's Michael Cherry and Johnnie Jackson are also receiving votes.

The SEC women's student-athletes named to The Bowerman February Watch List are Alabama's Quanesha Burks, Georgia's Keturah Orji, Ole Miss' Raven Saunders and Georgia's Kendell Williams. Kentucky's Sha'Keela Saunders, Missouri's Karissa Schweizer and Arkansas' Lexi Weeks and Tori Weeks are also receiving votes.

The Bowerman, which debuted in 2009, is presented annually by the USTFCCCA to the most outstanding male and female collegiate track & field athletes in the nation. It is named for former Oregon track and field and cross country coach Bill Bowerman.

The Bowerman Men's Watch List

Edward Cheserek, Oregon
Christian Coleman, Tennessee
Isaiah Harris, Penn State
Grant Holloway, Florida
Emmanuel Korir, UTEP
Filip Mihaljevic, Virginia
Byron Robinson, Texas
Curtis Thompson, Mississippi State
Lindon Victor, Texas A&M

Rudy Winkler, Cornell

Also Receiving Votes: KeAndre Bates (Florida), Clayton Brown (Florida), Michael Cherry (LSU), Eric Futch (Florida), Colby Gilbert (Washington), Johnnie Jackson (LSU), Michael Norman (Southern California).

The Bowerman Women's Watch List

Quanesha Burks, Alabama
Hannah Cunliffe, Oregon
Kaela Edwards, Oklahoma State
Keturah Orji, Georgia
Raevyn Rogers, Oregon
Raven Saunders, Ole Miss
Deajah Stevens, Oregon
Sasha Wallace, Oregon
Ariana Washington, Oregon
Kendell Williams, Georgia

Also Receiving Votes: Deanna Hill (Southern California), Sha'Keela Saunders (Kentucky), Karissa Schweiszer (Missouri), Lexi Weeks (Arkansas), Tori Weeks (Arkansas).