The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Florida men, A&M women win 2017 SEC Championship

663 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

Knoxville, Tenn. - The Florida men and Texas A&M women are the winners of the 2017 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships at the Allan Jones Intercollegiate Aquatics Center on the campus of the University of Tennessee.

The Aggies earned their second consecutive SEC title in women's swimming & diving with a final score of 1,304 points. Georgia came in second with 1,113 points. The Gators won its fifth consecutive and 38th overall title in men's swimming & diving with a total score of 1271.5 points. Georgia finished second with 985 points.

For the individual awards, Florida's Caeleb Dressel and Texas A&M's Sarah Gibson earned the SEC Commissioner's Trophy as the high-point scorers of the meet. Dressel and Gibson were also named the Men's and Women's Swimmers of the Meet. Juan Celaya-Hernandez was tabbed the Men's Diver of the Meet, and Lauren Reedy of Missouri won the Women's Diver of the Meet award.

Ashley Neidigh of Auburn won the women's 1650 free as with a time of 15:56.95. Autumn Finke of Florida came in second at 16:06.64, and Rachel Zilinskas of Georgia placed third with a time of 16:10.72.

Akaram Mahmoud earned a first-place finish in the men's 1650 free for the second consecutive year with a time of 14:38.91. Mitch D'Arrigo of Florida claimed second place with a time of 14:45.96, while Cody Bekemeyer of South Carolina took third with a time of 14:49.09.

In the women's 200 back, Asia Seidt of Kentucky touched the wall first with a time of 1:50.22. Danielle Galyer of Kentucky (1:51.17) and Hannah Stevens of Missouri (1:51.41) took second and third place, respectively.

Christopher Reid of Alabama earned the SEC title in the men's 200 back with his time of 1:39.64. Connor Oslin from Alabama placed second (1:40.35), and Joe Patching of Auburn came in third (1:40.46).

Georgia swept the women's 100 freestyle as Olivia Smoliga won with a time of 47.37, Chantal Van Landeghem took home the silver (47.74) and Veron Burchill earned the bronze (47.99).

Dressel defended his title in the men's 100 freestyle with his pool record time of 41.24. Second place went to Michael Chadwick of Missouri at 41.95, and third place was claimed by Kyle Decoursey of Tennessee at 42.07.

Texas A&M went 1-2-3 in the women's 200 breaststroke. Sydney Pickrem finished first with a time of 2:06.65, Ashley McGregor came in second at 2:07.54, and Bethany Galat took third with a time of 2:08.09.

The gold medal in the men's 200 breaststroke went to Anton McKee, who finished with a pool record time of 1:52.22. Nils Wich-Glasen of South Carolina took second with a time of 1:52.41, and Fabian Schwingenschlogl of Missouri came in third with a time of 1:52.61.

Celaya-Hernandez of LSU captured first place in the men's platform diving with an SEC meet record score of 496.55. Scott Lazeroff of Auburn recorded 461.00 points to earn second place, and Tyler Henschel of Texas A&M took third with 435.40 points.

In the 400 free relays, Georgia won the women's event with a pool record time of 3:12.19, while Florida won the men's race with a pool time of 2:47.09.

A recap of the men's championship will air on Monday, Feb. 27 at 4 p.m. ET on ESPNU, followed by the women's championship recap at 5:30 p.m. ET on ESPNU.

2017 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships - Day Five (Feb. 18 - Knoxville, Tenn.)

Saturday's Final Results:

Men's Team Results (final): 1. Florida 1271.5; 2. Georgia 985; 3. Auburn 925.5; 4. Alabama 897; 5. Missouri 771; 6. Tennessee 770.5; 7. Texas A&M 759; 8. South Carolina 696; 9. LSU 641; 10. Kentucky 481.5

Women's Team Results (final): 1. Texas A&M 1304; 2. Georgia 1113; 3. Kentucky 938; 4. Tennessee 855; 5. Auburn 849; 6. Missouri 786; 7. Florida 624; 8. LSU 550; 9. South Carolina 505; 10. Alabama 464; 11. Arkansas 284; 12. Vanderbilt 104