The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Women's Tennis All-SEC Teams announced

599 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Vanderbilt Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. --  The 2017 women's tennis first and second team All-SEC, All-Freshman team, and the yearly awards have been announced by the conference office.

Vanderbilt's Geoff Macdonald was named SEC Coach of the Year for the fourth time. Vanderbilt is currently 20-5 overall and ended the conference season 12-1 and the SEC Champion. The team also won the SEC Tournament on Sunday with a 4-3 victory over Florida.

Vanderbilt's Astra Sharma was named Player of the Year, the second Commodore to be honored with the award. The Perth, Australia native has been the highest ranked SEC singles player throughout the season and is currently fourth in the Oracle/ITA rankings. Sharma goes into NCAA action, 17-4 overall and ended the SEC season 11-2 in conference play.

This is the fourth season with Co-Freshmen of the Year. Georgia's Elena Christofi and LSU's Jade Lewis share the 2017 award. Christofi leads the team in singles wins with a 28-5 record and a ranking of nineteen, the fifth-highest ranking for a freshman in the nation. Lewis is currently 15-6 for the year in singles and played the #1 position as a freshman in every match but one.

Three have been named Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Alabama's Danielle Spielmann, Kentucky's Aldila Sutjadi and Vanderbilt's Georgina Sellyn. Spielmann has been named to the SEC Academic Honor Roll in 2014, 15 and 16 and is a three-time ITA Scholar-Athlete. She has a 3.981 GPA in marketing. Sutjadi maintained a 3.943 GPA in Mathematical Economics. She was the third runner up for the 2017 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar of the Year Award. Sellyn is repeating as Scholar-Athlete of the Year after winning the honor in 2016. She graduated last year with a bachelor's degree in Cognitive Neuroscience major and a 3.671 GPA and is currently working towards a master's degree in the Social Foundations of Health: Medicine, Health and Society with a 3.9 GPA.

A complete list of the awards follows and ties were not broken leading to 14-member All-SEC First-Team and a seven-member All-Freshman team.

First Team All-SEC
Erin Routliffe, Alabama
Alizee Michaud, Auburn
Ingrid Neel, Florida
Josie Kuhlman, Florida
Belinda Woolcock, Florida
Elena Christofi, Georgia
Ellen Perez, Georgia
Jade Lewis, LSU
Arianne Hartono, Ole Miss
Jasmine Lee, Mississippi State
Rachel Pierson, Texas A&M
Sydney Campbell, Vanderbilt
Astra Sharma, Vanderbilt
Emily Smith, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC
Shannon Hudson, Arkansas
Andie Dikosavljevic, Auburn
Kourtney Keegan, Florida
Anna Danilina, Florida
Kennedy Shaffer, Georgia
Aldila Sutjiadi, Kentucky
Joana Valle Costa, LSU
Bea Santos, Missouri
Mia Horvit, South Carolina
Brittany Lindl, Tennessee
Rutuja Bhosale, Texas A&M
Fernanda Contreras, Vanderbilt

Taylor Russo, Auburn
Ingrid Neel, Florida
Elena Christofi, Georgia
Jade Lewis, LSU
Lisa Marie Rioux, Mississippi State
Mia Horvit, South Carolina
Christina Rosca, Vanderbilt

Player of the Year: Astra Sharma, Vanderbilt

Co-Freshmen of the Year: Elena Christofi, Georgia and Jade Lewis, LSU

Tri-Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Danielle Spielmann, Alabama, Aldila Sutjadi, Kentucky and Georgina Sellyn, Vanderbilt

Coach of the Year: Geoff Macdonald, Vanderbilt