The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC with 16 former players on WNBA Opening Day Rosters

401 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Phil Ellsworth | ESPN Images

Birmingham, Ala. -- The WNBA opened the 2017 season on Saturday and 16 former SEC stars made WNBA opening day rosters.

Tennessee leads all SEC teams with six former players; LSU and South Carolina have three each; Kentucky has two; Florida and Texas A&M has one (the Aggies Danielle Adams also made the Sun's roster but played prior to the team joining the SEC).

Nine WNBA teams have at least one former SEC player on their opening day roster.

The SEC also has three former women's basketball players serving in coaching roles. Pokey Chatman (LSU) serves as head coach for the Indiana Fever, while Bridget Pettis, Florida (Dallas Wings) and Tonya Edwards, Tennessee (LA Sparks) serve as assistant coaches. In addition, Kelly Krauskopf, who played for Texas A&M during their Southwestern Conference days, is the president and general manager for Indiana.

Below is a list of all former SEC players who were on opening day rosters of the WNBA.

Aneika Henry-Morello, Florida
Meighan Simmons, Tennessee

Makayla Epps, Kentucky

Shekinna Stricklen, Tennessee

Evelyn Akhator, Kentucky
Kaela Davis, South Carolina
Allisha Gray, South Carolina
Glory Johnson, Tennessee
Theresa Plaisance, LSU

Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina

Los Angeles
Candace Parker, Tennessee

Seimone Augustus, LSU
Sylvia Fowles, LSU

New York
Cierra Burdick, Tennessee

San Antonio
Sydney Colson, Texas A&M
Isabelle Harrison, Tennessee