The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC leads nation with six teams in NCAA Super Regionals

557 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Peter Aiken | Getty Images

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Six baseball teams from the Southeastern Conference have advanced to the NCAA Super Regionals set to take place Friday through Monday. The SEC leads all conferences with its six representatives.

Florida, Kentucky, LSU, Mississippi State, Texas A&M and Vanderbilt won their respective regionals to reach the Super Regionals. All five teams will play in a best-of-three series with the winners advancing to the College World Series June 17-29 in Omaha, Neb.

Florida will play host to Wake Forest beginning Saturday, while Kentucky will travel to Louisville for a series that begins on Friday, and LSU will take on Mississippi State in Baton Rouge Saturday. Texas A&M will play host to Davidson on Friday, and Vanderbilt will open a series at No. 1 Oregon State on Friday.

This ties the record for the most teams from one conference to reach the Super Regionals. The SEC also sent six teams to Super Regionals in 2004.

NCAA Super Regional Matchups

  • Vanderbilt (36-23-1) at No. 1 Oregon St. (52-4)
  • Cal St. Fullerton (37-21) at Long Beach St. (41-18-1)
  • Davidson (35-24) at Texas A&M (39-21)
  • Kentucky (43-21) at No. 7 Louisville (50-10)
  • Sam Houston St. (44-21) at Florida St. (43-21)
  • Mississippi St. (40-25) at No. 4 LSU (46-17)
  • Missouri St. (43-18) at No. 6 TCU (45-16)
  • Wake Forest (42-18) at No. 3 Florida (45-17)