The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2016 SEC Football Championship

543 days ago
Photo: Todd Van Emst

2016 SEC Football Championship - Dec. 3, 2016
The Georgia Dome - Atlanta, Georgia
Attendance: 74,632
Alabama Crimson Tide 54, Florida Gators 16 Recap Box Score

ATLANTA (AP) --  Alabama (13-0) unleashed all its weapons against the Gators, scoring off an interception and a blocked punt in the first half, snuffing out their last gasp with a goal-line stand, and wearing down Florida at the end with a dominant running game.

"I don't see a lot of weaknesses," marveled McElwain, Saban's offensive coordinator from 2008-11. "They've really accumulated a lot of speed at some spots where they were always big."

The Crimson Tide bolted to a 16-9 lead in the first quarter, despite being held to minus-7 yards and no first downs. Minkah Fitzpatrick returned an interception 44 yards for a touchdown, and Josh Jacobs went 27 yards for a score with a blocked punt. A field goal was set up by another pick -- one of three thrown by Florida quarterback Austin Appleby in the first half.

The Tide led 33-16 at halftime and iced the victory with scoring drives of 98 and 91 yards, sparked by a goal-line stand that finished off the last gasp by the Gators (8-4). 

Alabama finished with 174 yards rushing in the second half. The bulk of the carries went to bruising sophomore Bo Scarbrough, who had two short touchdown runs and finished with 91 yards on 11 carries.


The Southeastern Conference's Eastern and Western Division winners will meet in Atlanta's Georgia Dome to battle for the league championship and the right to represent the conference in the College Football Playoff. The 25th-annual title game is set for December 3 and will be televised nationally by CBS Sports.

The game was born as a result of 1992 conference expansion, which saw Arkansas and South Carolina become the first members added in SEC history. Under NCAA regulations, a conference with 12 members may play an additional football game to determine its champion, provided the regular season is played in divisions. The participants of the game are determined each year during the eight-game regular-season conference schedule as the teams with the best overall SEC winning percentage in each division.

CBS Sports' national coverage of the 2015 SEC Championship game, which saw Alabama defeat Florida, 29-15, was the highest-rated college football game of the year. The SEC Championship game averaged an overnight household rating/share in the metered markets of 8.3/17, up 8%, from last year's 7.7/16 for Alabama-Missouri.

The 2009 SEC Championship Game earned an 11.8 rating and a 24 share, marking the highest-rated SEC Championship Game in history. The game matched the No. 1 Florida Gators (12-0) vs. the No. 2 Alabama Crimson Tide (12-0). The SEC Championship Game has drawn 22 capacity crowds in its 24-year history. Only 1993 (Birmingham) and 1995 (Atlanta) were not sellouts.

The SEC, along with AMB Sports & Entertainment (AMBSE) and the Georgia World Congress Center Authority (GWCCA), recently announced an agreement to host the SEC Championship Game at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta through 2026. The new agreement allows the SEC the option of adding up to two successive five-year extensions.

The Georgia Dome has hosted the SEC Championship Game for 22 years beginning in 1994, with capacity crowds in the last 20 consecutive years. By the end of the new agreement, including options, the Championship will have been played in Atlanta a total of 43 years. Mercedes-Benz Stadium is set to open in 2017, with 2016 set to be the final SEC Championship Game held in the Georgia Dome.

2016 Championship Weekend Schedule - Friday, December 2
Event Time (ET) Location Details
Regions Bank SEC Coaches Luncheon 12:00 PM Hyatt Regency Atlanta - Centennial Ballroom Purchase Tickets
SEC Championship Coaches' Press Conference 1:30 PM SEC Network + Watch
Dr Pepper SEC FanFare 2:00-8:00 PM Georgia World Congress Center Information
2016 Championship Weekend Schedule - Saturday, December 3
Event Time (ET) Location Details
Dr Pepper SEC FanFare 9:00 AM-4:00 PM Georgia World Congress Center Information
Western Division Team Pep Rally 1:30 - 2:00 PM Georgia World Congress Center
Eastern Division Team Pep Rally 2:00 - 2:30 PM Georgia World Congress Center
SEC Football Championship Game 4:00 PM Georgia Dome Stadium Construction Update
Georgia Dome Seating Chart
SEC Football Championship Game History
Year Score Attendance MVP
1992 Alabama 28, Florida 21 83,091 Antonio Langham, Alabama
1993 Florida 28, Alabama 13 76,345 Terry Dean, Florida
1994 Florida 24, Alabama 23 76,751 Ellis Johnson, Florida
1995 Florida 34, Arkansas 3 71,325 Danny Wuerffel, Florida
1996 Florida 45, Alabama 30 74,132 Danny Wuerffel, Florida
1997 Tennessee 30, Auburn 29 74,896 Peyton Manning, Tennessee
1998 Tennessee 24, Mississippi State 14 74,795 Peerless Price, Tennessee
1999 Alabama 34, Florida 7 71,500 Freddie Milons, Alabama
2000 Florida 28. Auburn 6 73,427 Rex Grossman, Florida
2001 LSU 31, Tennessee 20 74,843 Matt Mauck, LSU
2002 Georgia 30, Arkansas 3 74,835 David Greene, Georgia
2003 LSU 34, Georgia 13 74,913 Justin Vincent, LSU
2004 Auburn 38, Tennessee 28 74,892 Jason Campbell, Auburn
2005 Georgia 34, LSU 14 73,717 D.J. Shockley, Georgia
2006 Florida 38, Arkansas 28 73,374 Percy Harvin, Florida
2007 LSU 21, Tennessee 14 73,832 Ryan Perrilloux, LSU
2008 Florida 31, Alabama 20 75,892 Tim Tebow, Florida
2009 Alabama 32, Florida 13 75,514 Greg McElroy, Alabama
2010 Auburn 56, South Carolina 17 75,802 Cam Newton, Auburn
2011 LSU 42, Georgia 10 75,515 Tyrann Mathieu, LSU
2012 Alabama 32, Georgia 28 75,624 Eddie Lacy, Alabama
2013 Auburn 59, Missouri 42 75,632 Tre Mason, Auburn
2014 Alabama 42, Missouri 13 73,526 Blake Sims, Alabama
2015 Alabama 29, Florida 15 75,320 Derrick Henry, Alabama
2016 Alabama 54, Florida 16 74,632 Reuben Foster, Alabama