The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Basketball Leadership Councils to hold annual meeting

404 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference Men's and Women's Basketball Leadership Councils will convene for their annual meeting at SEC headquarters here Friday and Saturday.

The two councils consist of one male representative and one female representative from each of the SEC's 14 institutions.

Among the agenda items for the group is a conversation with Commissioner Greg Sankey followed by a review of NCAA and SEC legislative items related to basketball. The 28 student-athletes will also have an opportunity to engage with men's and women's basketball officials on rules of the game and student-athlete/referee interaction.

Renee Brown, former WNBA Chief of Basketball Operations and Player Relations, will meet with the women's representatives to discuss careers in professional sports and WNBA preparedness, while the men's representatives will hear from former ESPN College Basketball analyst Andy Katz on the topics of careers in broadcasting and personal and professional image and branding.

The Men's Basketball Leadership Council and the Women's Basketball Leadership Council comprise two components of the SEC Student-Athlete Leadership Council. The third component is the Football Leadership Council.

For the second consecutive year, SEC student-athletes will gather in Atlanta the week of the SEC Football Championship Game in December for a career tour.

The student-athletes who comprise the SEC Men's and Women's Basketball Leadership Council are:

Men's Basketball

  • Lawson Schaffer, Alabama
  • Adrio Bailey, Arkansas
  • Anfernee McLemore, Auburn
  • Kevarrius Hayes, Florida
  • Connor O'Neil, Georgia
  • Dillon Pulliam, Kentucky
  • Skylar Mays, LSU
  • Breein Tyree, Ole Miss
  • Mitchell Storm, Mississippi State
  • Brett Rau, Missouri
  • Maik Kotsar, South Carolina
  • Kyle Alexander, Tennessee
  • Admon Gilder, Texas A&M
  • Larry Austin, Vanderbilt

Women's Basketball

  • Hannah Cook, Alabama
  • Jailyn Mason, Arkansas
  • Janiah McKay, Auburn
  • Haley Lorenzen, Florida
  • Taja Cole, Georgia
  • Alyssa Rice, Kentucky
  • Jaelyn Richard-Harris, LSU
  • Shandricka Sessom, Ole Miss
  • Blair Schaefer, Mississippi State
  • Jordan Frericks, Missouri
  • A'Ja Wilson, South Carolina
  • Mercedes Russell, Tennessee
  • Danni Williams, Texas A&M
  • Christa Reed, Vanderbilt