The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC ALDP celebrates 10 years

395 days ago
SECU Staff
Photo: SECU

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - The SEC Academic Leadership Development Program will celebrate its 10-year anniversary during the 2017-18 academic year.

The SEC ALDP seeks to identify, prepare and advance academic leaders for roles within SEC institutions and beyond. It has three components: a university-level development program designed by each institution for its own participants (i.e., fellows); two SEC-wide workshops held on specified campuses for all program participants; and a competitive fellowship designed to provide administrative growth opportunities for former fellows.

This year's first SEC-wide workshop will take place October 23-25 at Louisiana State University (LSU) and the second will be February 21-23, 2018 at Auburn University.

"It is our strong belief that helping to prepare administrators for the next phase of their careers has the potential to impact all of higher education, both now and in the future," SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey has said of the SEC ALDP. "Our universities make a significant investment in these individuals, and we are proud to work with them through this program."

The workshop at LSU will begin with an SEC ALDP retrospective, and Dr. Christine Curtis, who was instrumental in establishing the program during her time at the University of South Carolina, will provide a keynote address. Dr. Curtis currently serves as Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs at the University of Alabama-Huntsville.

Like Dr. Curtis, many SEC ALDP alumni have taken leadership roles as deans and provosts, among other senior-level positions, at universities around the SEC and country. For example, Dr. Laurence Alexander from the University of Florida's 2012-13 cohort is currently the Chancellor at the University of Arkansas-Pine Bluff, and Dr. Michael Hardin from the University of Alabama's 2008-09 cohort is currently Provost at Samford University. In total, more than 350 faculty and academic administrators have completed the SEC ALDP.

"The content of the program was wonderful and all of the sessions had pearls of wisdom," said Dr. Kathryn Cardarelli, Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs in the College of Public Health at the University of Kentucky and former fellow. "I also enjoyed meeting the participants and learning more about the diversity of positions at the other SEC universities."

The 2017-18 SEC Academic Leadership Development Program fellows are:

Caroline Boxmeyer, University of Alabama, Assistant Dean for Academic Affairs, College of Community Health Sciences

Jonathon Halbesleben, University of Alabama, Senior Associate Dean, Culverhouse College of Commerce

Laura Hopson, University of Alabama, Director, Bachelor of Social Work Program

Roger Sidje, University of Alabama, Associate Dean for Multicultural Affairs, College of Arts and Sciences

Steven Beaupre, University of Arkansas, Associate Dean of Social Sciences, J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences

Cheryl Murphy, University of Arkansas, Interim Department Head, Curriculum and Instruction

Anne O'Leary-Kelly, University of Arkansas, Senior Associate Dean, Sam M. Walton College of Business

Yajaira Padilla, University of Arkansas, Director, Latin American and Latino Studies Program

Ben Farrow, Auburn University, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and International Programs, College of Architecture, Design and Construction

Ramesh Jeganathan, Auburn University, Director, Graduate Program

Jennifer Mueller-Phillips, Auburn University, Director, School of Accountancy

Tiffany Sippial, Auburn University, Director, Graduate Studies

Tom Kelleher, University of Florida, Department Chair, Advertising

Kevin Orr, University of Florida, Director, School of Music

Mary Watt, University of Florida, Associate Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Phaedra Corso, University of Georgia, Director, Economic Evaluation Research Group

Spencer Johnston, University of Georgia, Department Head, Small Animal Medicine and Surgery

Maritza Soto Keen, University of Georgia, Senior Public Service Associate, J.W. Fanning Institute for Leadership Development

David Okech, University of Georgia, Director, Master of Social Work Program

Cristina Alcalde, University of Kentucky, Marie Rich Endowed Professor, Gender and Women's Studies

Sandra Bastin, University of Kentucky, Department Chair, Dietetics and Human Nutrition

Margaret Mohr-Schroeder, University of Kentucky, Co-Chair, Secondary Undergraduate STEM Education Program

Jeffery Talbert, University of Kentucky, Director, Institute for Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy

James Byo, Louisiana State University, Director, School of Music

Elena Castro, Louisiana State University, Director, Women's and Gender Studies

Craig Harvey, Louisiana State University, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, College of Engineering

Sean Lane, Louisiana State University, Associate Dean, Graduate School

Michèle Alexandre, University of Mississippi, Associate Dean, School of Law

Ryan Niemeyer, University of Mississippi, Interim Department Chair, Leadership and Counselor Education

Brice Noonan, University of Mississippi, Chair, Faculty Senate

Molly Pasco-Pranger, University of Mississippi, Department Chair, Classics

Kari Babski-Reeves, Mississippi State University, Associate Dean of Research and Graduate Students, Bagley College of Engineering

Wes Burger, Jr., Mississippi State University, Associate Director, Forest and Wildlife Research Center

Will Evans, Jr., Mississippi State University, Department Head, Food Science, Nutrition and Health Promotion

Leslie Hossfeld, Mississippi State University, Department Head, Sociology

Joan Hermsen, University of Missouri, Department Chair, Women's and Gender Studies

Rhonda Reger, University of Missouri, Department Chair, Management

Stephanie Reid-Arndt, University of Missouri, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, School of Health Professions

Hani Salim, University of Missouri, Associate Dean for Academic Programs, College of Engineering

Claudia Benitez-Nelson, University of South Carolina, Distinguished Professor, School of Earth, Ocean and Environment

Kirk Foster, University of South Carolina, Specialization Chair, Social, Community and Economic Development

Matt Thatcher, University of South Carolina, Interim Department Chair, Computer Science and Engineering

Tracey Weldon, University of South Carolina, Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, College of Arts and Sciences

Misty Anderson, University of Tennessee, President-Elect, Faculty Senate

Bruce Behn, University of Tennessee, Associate Dean for Graduate and Executive Education, Haslam College of Business

Todd Moore, University of Tennessee, Interim Associate Dean for Graduate Studies, College of Arts and Sciences

Lynne Parker, University of Tennessee, Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Engagement, Tickle College of Engineering

Michael Johnson, Texas A&M University, Associate Professor, Department of Engineering Technology and Industrial Distribution

Michael de Miranda, Texas A&M University, Department Head, Teaching, Learning and Culture

Joseph Ura, Texas A&M University, Associate Department Head, Political Science

Heather Wilkinson, Texas A&M University, Associate Dean of Faculties for Faculty Development,Office of the Dean of Faculties

Senta Victoria Greene, Vanderbilt University, Chair-Elect, Faculty Senate

Jeremy Wilson, Vanderbilt University, Department Chair, Brass and Percussion