The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC teams set for NCAA Cross Country Championships

455 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: UGA Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Six cross country teams from the Southeastern Conference will compete in the NCAA Championships Saturday in Louisville, Ky.

The Arkansas men, Ole Miss men, Arkansas women, Georgia women and Ole Miss women all earned automatic berths to the championships based on their performance at the NCAA Regionals, while the Alabama men earned at at-large bid.

Participating men's individuals from the SEC include Jon Bishop (Texas A&M), Christian Farris (Texas A&M), and participating women's individuals include Brenda Kigen (Auburn), defending NCAA champion Karrisa Schweizer (Missouri), and Katy Kunc (Kentucky).

Thirty-eight individuals were selected to participate in each championship through an automatic qualifier and at-large selection process. All individual qualifiers finished in the top 25 in their region last weekend.

Thirty-one teams were selected to participate in each championship. The top two, seven-person teams automatically qualified from each of the nine regions, for a total of 18 teams. Thirteen additional teams were selected at-large. Each of the SEC teams that earned berths to the NCAA Championships qualified automatically.

The University of Louisville will host the championships Saturday at E.P. Tom Sawyer State. The women's race will begin at 9:45 a.m. CT, followed by the men's race at 10:45 a.m.