The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC volleyball programs advance to postseason play

422 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: David Barnes

Four SEC programs are a part of the 64-team field that will compete in the 2017 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship.

No. 2 Florida will host Alabama State, its NCAA First Round opponent from 2016, on Thursday, Nov. 30 at 7 p.m. ET, while College of Charleston and Miami will square off at 4:30 p.m. The winners face one another Friday, Dec. 1 at 7 p.m. ET.

No. 4 Kentucky will host East Tennessee State on Friday at 7:30 p.m. ET. Notre Dame and Western Kentucky will compete in the other first-round matchup on Friday at 5 p.m. inside Memorial Coliseum. The winners of the two matches will meet on Saturday, Dec. 2 at 7 p.m.

LSU, which earned an at-large bid, will take on San Diego in the first round on Friday at 7 p.m. CT in Los Angeles, Calif. If the Tigers win, they will face either No. 10 USC or Central Arkansas in the second round on Saturday at 9 p.m.

Missouri also earned an at-large bid and will face Kansas on Friday at 6 p.m. CT in Wichita, Kan. With a victory, the Tigers would meet the winner of the first-round between No. 16 Wichita State and Radford on Saturday at 7 p.m.

Teams winning both matches will move on to regional play Dec. 8 and 9. Regionals for the NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship will be held at four non-predetermined campus sites, which will be announced after play concludes, on December 2. At each site, four teams will compete in single-elimination regional semifinal competition.

The regional winners will advance to the national semifinals and championship final, co-hosted by the University of Missouri Kansas City, University of Kansas and Kansas City Sports Commission on Dec. 14 and 16 at the Sprint Center in Kansas City, Missouri. The national semifinal matches will broadcast on ESPN/ESPN2 and the championship match will broadcast on ESPN2.

In addition to the NCAA Championship, Georgia and Ole Miss are among the 32 teams that will participate in the 2017 National Invitational Volleyball Championship (NIVC).

Georgia will host Alabama A&M for its first-round matchup on Tuesday, Nov. 28 at 7 p.m. ET. UCF and UNC Greensboro will also compete in the first match of the day at 4 p.m. The winners of the first-round matches in Athens will face off in the second round on Wednesday, Nov. 29 at 7 p.m.

Ole Miss will host Stephen F. Austin for a first-round match on Wednesday, Nov. 29 at 6 p.m. CT. SIUE and Arkansas State will play at 3 p.m. at the Gillom Center. The winners of the two matches will advance to the second round on Thursday, Nov. 30 at 6 p.m.

Round three of the NIVC is slated for Dec. 2-4, and the semifinals will take place Dec. 4-6. The title match of the NIVC will take place on Tuesday, Dec. 12 at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN3.