The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2018 SEC Women's Tennis Awards announced

273 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: UGA Athletics

Birmingham, Ala. - The 2018 women's tennis first and second team All-SEC, All-Freshman team, and the yearly awards have been announced by the conference office.

Vanderbilt's Geoff Macdonald was named SEC Coach of the Year for the fifth time. Vanderbilt is currently 22-3 overall and ended the conference season 12-1 and the SEC Champion. The team also won the SEC Tournament on Sunday with a 4-0 victory over Florida.

Ole Miss' Arianne Hartono was named Player of the Year, the first Rebel to be honored with the award in women's tennis. The Meppel, Netherlands native is the highest ranked SEC singles player at fifth in the Oracle/ITA rankings. Hartono goes into NCAA action, 20-2 in dual singles matches and ended the SEC season 11-2 in singles play.

Freshman of the Year was awarded to Georgia's Katarina Jokic. She is currently ranked at twelve in singles of the Oracle/ITA rankings. After not receiving a preseason singles ranking, Jokic entered into the next rankings at No. 12 and hasn't fallen below the No. 12 spot, reaching as high as No. 2. In dual action, Jokic played exclusively at No. 1, going 11-3 overall and 6-3 in conference play, clinching four matches.

Florida's Josie Kuhlman was named Scholar-Athlete of the Year during this year's SEC Tournament. She will graduate with a perfect 4.0 grade point average in spring of 2018 with a Bachelor's degree in Public Relations. An All-American on the singles court, Kuhlman was the 2017 NCAA Elite 90 Award Winner - an award that recognizes the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade point average at the Final site of each of the NCAA's 90 championships. She has been an ITA Scholar-Athlete (min. 3.5 GPA) every year and earned a spot on the SEC Academic Honor Roll each season.

A complete list of the awards follows and ties were not broken leading to 16-member All-SEC First-Team and a 19-member All-SEC Second-Team.

First Team All-SEC
Andie Daniell, Alabama
Giulia Pairone, Arkansas
Jaeda Daniel, Auburn
Anna Danilina, Florida
McCartney Kessler, Florida
Josie Kuhlman, Florida
Katarina Jokic, Georgia
Mami Adachi, Kentucky
Eden Richardson, LSU
Alexa Bortles, Ole Miss
Arianne Hartono, Ole Miss
Hadley Berg, South Carolina
Ingrid Martins, South Carolina
Fernanda Contreras, Vanderbilt
Christina Rosca, Vanderbilt
Astra Sharma, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC
Ana Oparenovic, Arkansas
Alizee Michaud, Auburn
Elena Christofi, Georgia
Morgan Coppoc, Georgia
Marta Gonzalez, Georgia
Mariana Gould, Georgia
Kennedy Shaffer, Georgia
Emily Fanning, Kentucky
Ryann Foster, LSU
Tea Jandric, Ole Miss
Anna Vrbenska, Ole Miss
Madison Harrison, Mississippi State
Sabina Machalova, Ole Miss
Anastasia Rentouli, Mississippi State
Mia Horvit, South Carolina
Domenica Gonzalez, Texas A&M
Macarena Olivares, Texas A&M
Summer Dvorak, Vanderbilt
Amanda Meyer, Vanderbilt

Jaeda Daniel, Auburn
McCartney Kessler, Florida
Katarina Jokic, Georgia
Eden Richardson, LSU
Sabina Machalova, Ole Miss
Amanda Meyer, Vanderbilt

Player of the Year
Arianne Hartono, Ole Miss

Freshmen of the Year
Katarina Jokic, Georgia

Scholar-Athletes of the Year
Josie Kuhlman, Florida

Coach of the Year
Geoff Macdonald, Vanderbilt