The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Matchups announced for SEC/Big 12 Women's Challenge

269 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Todd Van Emst

The Southeastern and Big 12 conferences have announced the games that will be part of their women's basketball challenge in 2018.

Ten teams from the SEC will participate while every team from the Big 12 will take part in the Challenge. The format features five home games on campus sites for each conference per year. Teams will not face the same opponent twice.

In 2018, games have been scheduled for the dates of Thursday, November 29 and Sunday, December 2. Exact times and television designations will be released when available. Dates and match-ups for 2019 will be announced at a later date.

The inaugural challenge was held in 2014 in Little Rock, Arkansas, and featured a top 5 showdown with No. 3 Texas squaring off against No. 4 Texas A&M. Oklahoma and Arkansas, who were both receiving votes, played in the second game. The conferences split the Challenge with the two games decided by a total of nine points. The 2015 version was contested in Oklahoma City with the opponents reversed as No. 5 Texas played Arkansas while No. 17 Oklahoma competed against No. 18 Texas A&M. Each league again claimed a win.

In 2016, the SEC edged the Big 12, 6-4, in the first 10-game slate, while in 2017 the conferences split 5-5.

2018 SEC/Big 12 Women's Basketball Challenge Matchups

Thursday, November 29
Kansas at LSU
TCU at Ole Miss

Sunday, December 2
Baylor at South Carolina
Arkansas at Iowa State
Vanderbilt at K-State
Oklahoma at Auburn
Tennessee at Oklahoma State
Mississippi State at Texas
Texas Tech at Florida
Missouri at West Virginia