The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Championship - Men's Golf

62 days ago
Photo: Steve Colquitt

2017 SEC Men's Golf Championship
April 21-24, 2017 - Sea Island Golf Club, Seaside Course (Par 70)
St. Simons Island, Ga.

Seaside Course

Hole-by-hole Preview

This marks the 17th year for the Southeastern Conference Championship to be contested on the Sea Island Golf Club's Seaside Course. The SEC has conducted its annual championship on St. Simons Island since 2001 (Seaside Course 2001-2007, 2010-2016; Frederica Golf Club 2008-2009). Since 1927, the Sea Island Golf Club has enjoyed a legacy as one of America's premier golf clubs.

The 2017 event will mark the first in which the championship will extend to a fourth day, with Match Play on Sunday, April 23 and Monday, April 24. Three rounds of stroke play will occur the opening two days of the championship. Rated No. 1 in the U.S. among the "World's 50 Best Golf Hotels" by Golf Digest Index, Sea Island Golf Club offers three exceptional 18-hole championship courses. The Seaside Course, home to the PGA TOUR's McGladrey Classic, is a links course graced by majestic ocean vistas in the tradition of St. Andrews.

The Seaside Course was totally reconfigured by Tom Fazio and reopened in October 1999. The new Seaside Course is the brilliant blending of Colt & Allison's original nine-hole Seaside and Joe Lee's Marshside nine into one seamless, contemporary 18-hole golf course. Tidal creeks, dunes, saltmarshes and St. Simons Sound frame the course which plays fast, firm and fun in the tradition of legendary Scottish links.

The course will play a par-70 at 6,898 yards.

The SEC Men's Golf Championship has been played at Sea Island since 2001, with Georgia winning six of the 16 championships. Alabama has won four times, Florida has won twice, while Auburn, Kentucky, LSU and Tennessee have each won one conference tournament title during that time. Georgia fired a final-round 5-over 285 last season to wind up at 13-over 853 and hold on for a 3-shot win over Texas A&M (856). Florida and Arkansas tied for third at 861, while LSU took fifth at 864.

2017 SEC Men's Golf Championship
Round 1
Round 2
Round 3