The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

3 student-athletes nominated for Senior CLASS Award

2730 days ago
Photo: South Carolina Athletics

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. -- Three Southeastern Conference soccer student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate soccer.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence - community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The field will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Women's College Cup® championships in December.

Name                 Position                        School

Cassie Black    Forward Eastern Washington University

Caroline Brawner Midfield Colgate

Jessy Brown Midfield UMBC

Nicole Calder Midfielder/Defender Kennesaw State University

Melissa Chapman Defender Drexel University

Abby Dahlkemper Defender UCLA

Kylie Davis Midfielder Memphis

Alex Doll Midfielder Stanford

Emily Dzik Defender Eastern Michigan

Sabrina D'Angelo Goalkeeper University of South Carolina

Kirsten Eriksen Defender American

Kelsey Fouch Defender Missouri State University

Anna Grant Back Siena College

Kylee Hathaway Goalkeeper Alabama State University

Kelsey Haycook Forward La Salle University

Sarah Killion Midfielder UCLA

Elise Kotsakis Forward Butler University

Lauren Lazo Midfield/Forward Princeton University

Taylor Leach Defender University of South Carolina

Aislinn McIlvenny Midfield/Forward Manhattan College

Brooke Moody Defender University of Montana

Chelsey Patterson Midfield/Forward Cal State Fullerton

Riley Ridgik Midfielder Wake Forest University

Taryn Rose Defender Utah State

Kate Schwindel Forward West Virginia University

Sam Scolarici Forward Hofstra University

Ashleigh Shim Forward FIU

Meghan Streight Defender Texas A&M

Taylor Uhl Forward Stanford

Stephanie Verdoia Forward Seattle University