The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC women's basketball awards announced

2393 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: B.C. Romano

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference announced its 2015 women's basketball postseason awards Tuesday, highlighted by Mississippi State's Vic Schaefer and South Carolina's Dawn Staley being named Co-Coaches of the Year. It's the first time in league history that co-coaches have been named.

South Carolina's Tiffany Mitchell repeats as Player of the Year and her teammate A'ja Wilson was named Freshman of the Year.

Texas A&M's Jordan Jones repeats as Defensive Player of the Year, while Kentucky's Jennifer O'Neill also repeats as 6th Player of the Year. South Carolina's Aleighsa Welch was named Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

First-team and second-team All-SEC honorees, All-Freshman team, All-Defensive team, along with Player, Coach and Freshman, Defensive Player, 6th Player and Scholar-Athlete of the Year were chosen by the league's 14 coaches. Ties were not broken.

The complete 2015 SEC Women's Basketball Postseason Awards follow.

Coach of the Year: Vic Schaefer, Mississippi State / Dawn Staley, South Carolina
Player of the Year: Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
Freshman of the Year: A'ja Wilson, South Carolina
Defensive Player of the Year: Jordan Jones, Texas A&M
6th Player of the Year: Jennifer O'Neill, Kentucky
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Aleighsa Welch, South Carolina

First Team All-SEC
Makayla Epps, Kentucky
Danielle Ballard, LSU
Tia Faleru, Ole Miss
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
Aleighsa Welch, South Carolina
A'ja Wilson, South Carolina
Cierra Burdick, Tennessee
Isabelle Harrison, Tennessee
Courtney Walker, Texas A&M

Second Team All-SEC
Jessica Jackson, Arkansas
Jennifer O'Neill, Kentucky
Jordan Frericks, Missouri
Martha Alwal, Mississippi State
Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State
Alaina Coates, South Carolina
Jordan Jones, Texas A&M
Courtney Williams, Texas A&M

Haley Lorenzen, Florida
Mackenzie Engram, Georgia
Alexis Jennings, Kentucky
A'Queen Hayes, Ole Miss
Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State
Morgan William, Mississippi State
A'ja Wilson, South Carolina
Rebekah Dahlman, Vanderbilt

Linnae Harper, Kentucky
Danielle Ballard, LSU
Martha Alwal, Mississippi State
Alaina Coates, South Carolina
Jordan Jones, Texas A&M