The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2015 SEC Volleyball awards announced

1479 days ago
SEC staff
Photo: UK/Texas A&M/Mizzou Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - The Southeastern Conference announced its annual volleyball awards to cap the 2015 season. The All-SEC Team consists of 18 student-athletes, along with a seven-member All-Freshman squad. No ties were broken.

Stephanie Aiple, a sophomore setter at Texas A&M, was chosen as the 2015 SEC Volleyball Player of the Year. She is the first Aggie to earn this honor. Aiple is third in the SEC and 18th in the nation in assists per set, averaging 11.35 per set. She is also ninth in the conference in total assists with 965 to her credit. Aiple was named the SEC Setter of the Week five times and the SEC Player of the Week once this season.

Kentucky sophomore defensive specialist Ashley Dusek was named the 2015 SEC Libero of the Year. A two-time Defensive Player of the Week selection, she leads the league in digs per set (4.98), good for 33rd place on the NCAA chart. In 28 matches this season, Dusek has recorded 503 digs. This is the third Libero of the Year honor for the Wildcats and their fourth Defensive Player of the Year award overall.

Alyssa Munlyn of Missouri was tabbed the 2015 SEC Freshman of the Year. The middle blocker is currently sixth in the SEC in hitting percentage and the top freshman in the category, hitting .363 over 29 matches during her rookie campaign. She is one of two freshmen in the SEC to be ranked in the top 10 in both hitting percentage and blocks per set (fifth with 1.14). Munlyn has earned three SEC Freshman of the Week awards.

Stephanie Campbell of Auburn was selected as the 2015 SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award. Campbell, a junior middle blocker, has a 4.0 GPA as a double major student-athlete. She is majoring in cellular and molecular biology as well as animal sciences. Campbell is a two-time honoree on the CoSIDA Academic All-District Team and the SEC Academic Honor Roll. In addition to her academic success, she is very involved in the Auburn community and is the Student Athlete Advisory Committee's Community Service Executive.

Texas A&M head coach Laurie Corbelli was voted the 2015 SEC Coach of the Year. The Aggies are currently 14-2 in league play and in first place heading into the last two matches of the regular season. Corbelli's program is now No. 19 in the AVCA Coaches Top 25 and 10th in the latest NCAA RPI rankings. In her 23rd season at the College Station, Texas school, she owns a record of 485-227 and an overall record of 585-333 in 30 years as a head coach.

Player of the Year: Stephanie Aiple, Texas A&M

Libero of the Year: Ashley Dusek, Kentucky

Freshman of the Year: Alyssa Munlyn, Missouri

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Stephanie Campbell, Auburn

Coach of the Year: Laurie Corbelli, Texas A&M

All-SEC Team
Student-Athlete School
Kat Hutson Alabama
Krystal Rivers Alabama
Pilar Victoria Arkansas
Rhamat Alhassan Florida
Simone Antwi Florida
Mackenzie Dagostino Florida
Alex Holston Florida
Živa Recek Florida
Morgan Bergren Kentucky
Kaz Brown Kentucky
Ashley Dusek Kentucky
Nakeyta Clair Ole Miss
Carly Kan Missouri
Kira Larson Missouri
Alyssa Munlyn Missouri
Stephanie Aiple Texas A&M
Jazzmin Babers Texas A&M
Shelby Sullivan Texas A&M
All-Freshman Team
Student-Athlete School
Okiana Valle Arkansas
Brenna McIlroy Auburn
Brooke Morgan Kentucky
Kathryn Cather Ole Miss
Alyssa Munlyn Missouri
Aubrey Ezell South Carolina
Erica Treiber Tennessee