The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

UF men, Texas A&M women in first after Day 3

2544 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC Staff

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- The Florida men maintain their lead, while the Texas A&M women move to first place after day three of the 2016 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships at the Mizzou Aquatics Center on the campus of the University of Missouri.

On the women's side, the Aggies take over first place with a total of 657.5 points, while Tennessee moves to second with 645.5 points. For the men, Florida stays in first with 723 team points, and Auburn is in second place with 669 points.

To begin the evening session, Texas A&M went 1-2-3 in the women's 400 IM. Freshman Sydney Pickrem set a pool record as she took the top spot with a time of 4:05.32, followed by sophomores Lisa Bratton (4:05.44) and Bethany Galat (4:05.77).

A pool record was also set in the men's 400 IM, as Jay Litherland of Georgia claimed first place with a time of 3:40.33. Mark Szaranek of Florida came in second at 3:41.88, and Joe Patching of Auburn took third at 3:42.71.

Sarah Gibson of Texas A&M was crowned the individual champion in the women's 100 fly, finishing with a time of 51.17. Fellow Aggie Béryl Gastaldello took second place with a time of 51.46, and Madeline Banic came in third at 51.79.

An SEC meet record was set in the men's 100 fly as Florida's Caeleb Dressel defended his title in the event with a time of 44.80, besting the top time set in 2009 by Auburn's Matt Targett (45.02). LSU's Logan Rysemus took second with a time of 45.59, while Auburn's Arthur Mendes came in third at 45.98.

Florida's Kahlia Warner, who won the 1-meter springboard on Tuesday night, earned a first-place finish in the 3-meter springboard with a total of 383.75. LSU's Cassie Weil came in second with a final score of 372.55, and Tennessee's Rachel Rubadue took third with a score of 354.00.

Brittany MacLean of Georgia took first place in the women's 200 free, setting a pool record with her time of 1:43.64. Fellow Bulldog Meaghan Raab claimed second with a time of 1:44.61, and Geena Freriks of Kentucky earned third place with a time of 1:44.98.

Matias Koski of Georgia defended his title the men's 200 free with a time of 1:33.43, while Hugo Morris of Auburn (1:33.65) and Michael Chadwick of Missouri (1:34.11) took second and third, respectively.

The 2016 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships continues on Friday, Feb. 19 at 10 a.m. CT with the preliminaries for the 200 fly, 100 back, 100 breast and men's platform diving, followed by the finals of those four events plus the 400 medley relay starting at 6 p.m. CT. Both sessions can be viewed on SEC Network+.

2016 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships - Day Three (Feb. 18 - Columbia, Mo.)

Thursday's Final Results: Men's Team Results (through 11 events): 1. Florida 723; 2. Auburn 669; 3. Georgia 572; 4. Alabama 449; 5. Missouri 429; 6. Tennessee 360; 7. South Carolina 315; 8. Texas A&M 291; 9. LSU 288; 10. Kentucky 264

Women's Team Results (through 11 events): 1. Texas A&M 687.5; 2. Tennessee 645.5; 3. Georgia 584.5; 4. Florida 426; 5. Auburn 354.5; 6. Missouri 352.5; 7. LSU 337; 8. Arkansas 303; 9. Kentucky 286; 10. South Carolina 261; 11. Alabama 234.5; 12. Vanderbilt 93