The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Florida men, A&M women remain in lead on day four

2840 days ago
SEC staff
Photo: Missouri Athletics

COLUMBIA, Mo. - The Florida men and Texas A&M women maintain their lead after day four of the 2016 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships at the Mizzou Aquatics Center on the campus of the University of Missouri.

On the men's side, the Gators own 982 points to keep them in first place, while Auburn remains in second with 952 points. For the women, the Aggies improved their lead with 847.5 points, and Tennessee stayed in second place with 828.5 points.

To begin the evening session, Hali Flickinger from Georgia set the pool record in the women's 200 fly with a final time of 1:52.62. Sarah Gibson of Texas A&M came in second (1:53.75), and Megan Kingsley of Georgia took third place (1:53.92).

Hugo Morris of Auburn set the SEC meet record in the men's 200 fly with a winning time of 1:40.59, topping the record set by Florida's Sebastien Rousseau in 2014 (1:41.07). Pace Clark of Georgia placed second with a time of 1:40.80, while fellow Bulldog Gunnar Bentz came in third place with a time of 1:41.56.

Olivia Smoliga of Georgia was victorious in the women's 100 back for the second consecutive year, setting a pool record with her time of 50.80. Kira Toussaint of Tennessee earned second with a time of 51.14, and Danielle Galyer of Kentucky took third with a time of 51.78.

Connor Oslin of Alabama defended his title in the men's 100 back, coming in first with a time of 45.25. Taylor Dale of Georgia took second at 45.58, and Jack Blyzinski of Florida won third at 45.66.

Katharine Ross of Missouri won the women's 100 breaststroke, recording a top time of 58.38, en route to being the first Tiger to win an individual SEC title in women's swimming. Bridget Blood of Alabama earned second place with a time of 59.44, and Abby Duncan of Missouri took third with a time of 59.68.

Michael Duderstadt of Auburn won the men's 100 breaststroke, earning the gold medal with a time of 51.94. Fabian Schwingenschlogl of Missouri came in second (52.13) and Mauro Castillo of Texas A&M finished third (52.65).

In men's platform diving, Mauricio Robles from Tennessee claimed first place after recording a top score of 439.90. Seb Masterson of Kentucky finished second with a score of 389.70, and Scott Lazeroff of Auburn earned third place with a score of 377.10.

The Texas A&M foursome of Lisa Bratton, Jorie Caneta, Gibson and Béryl Gastaldello set a pool record while winning the women's 400 medley relay with a time of 3:30.15. Second place went to Georgia (3:30.83) and third place to Missouri (3:31.29).

Florida won the men's 400 medley relay as Jack Blyzinskyj, Caeleb Dressel, Jan Switkowski and Corey Main finished first with a SEC meet record time of 3:03.44. Auburn finished second in a time of 3:05.44, and Alabama took third with a time of 3:06.17.

The 2016 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships concludes on Saturday, Feb. 20. Preliminaries for the 200 back, 100 free and 200 breast begin at 10 a.m. CT, followed by prelims for the women's platform diving at 1 p.m. and timed finals for the 1650 free at approximately 4 p.m. The evening session starts at 6 p.m. CT with the final heat of the 1650 free as well as the finals for the 200 back, 100 free, 200 breast, women's platform diving and 400 free relay. The trophy presentation for all the major award winners will take place at the conclusion of the meet. Both sessions can be viewed on SEC Network+.

A recap of the men's championship will air on Wednesday, Mar. 2 at 4 p.m. ET on ESPNU, followed by the women's championship recap at 5:30 p.m. ET on ESPNU.

2016 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships - Day Four (Feb. 19 - Columbia, Mo.)

Friday's Final Results:

Men's Team Results (through 16 events): 1. Florida 723; 2. Auburn 669; 3. Georgia 572; 4. Alabama 449; 5. Missouri 429; 6. Tennessee 360; 7. South Carolina 315; 8. Texas A&M 291; 9. LSU 288; 10. Kentucky 264

Women's Team Results (through 15 events): 1. Texas A&M 847.5; 2. Tennessee 828.5; 3. Georgia 815.5; 4. Missouri 545; 5. Auburn 538; 6. Florida 507; 7. LSU 482; 8. Kentucky 405; 9. Alabama 377; 10. Arkansas 371; 11. South Carolina 324.5; 12. Vanderbilt 130