The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2016 Men's Tennis Awards announced

2597 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: B.C. Romano

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The 2016 men's tennis first and second team All-SEC, All-Freshman team, and the yearly awards have been announced by the conference office.

Florida's Bryan Shelton was named SEC Coach of the Year. The Gators are currently 18-6 overall and ended the conference season with a 10-2 record and the SEC Tournament title.

Florida's Diego Hidalgo was named Player of the Year after compiling a 16-4 singles dual match record with a 10-2 SEC record. He defeated 12 ITA ranked singles players and 9 ranked doubles pairs during the regular season, compiling an 11-5 doubles dual match record and a 7-3 record in SEC play.

The Gators' Alfredo Perez and Kentucky's Ryotaro Matsumura were named Co-Freshman fo the Year. Perez compiled a 31-9 overall singles record in his freshman regular season campaign, while Matsumura had a team best 18 singles victories this season for an 18-5 record in dual matches.

Scholar-Athlete of the Year was awarded to Mississippi State's Rishab Agarwal. He was named the men's tennis recipient of the Newsom Award at MSU (awarded to team's top student) and has earned a 4.00 GPA this year in business information. On the court, the junior ranks second on the team in total wins at 21 and has earned four ranked wins in regular season singles play.

Ties are not broken which resulted in a 14 member second team.

A complete list of the awards follows.

First Team All-SEC

Mike Redlicki, Arkansas

Diego Hidalgo, Florida

Elliott Orkin, Florida

Gordon Watson, Florida

Wayne Montgomery, Georgia

Austin Smith, Georgia

William Bushamuka, Kentucky

Gustav Hansson, Ole Miss

Mate Cutura, Mississippi State

Arthur Rinderknech, Texas A&M

Shane Vinsant, Texas A&M

Daniel Valent, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC

Korey Lovett, Alabama

Mazen Osama, Alabama

Jose Salazar, Arkansas

Alfredo Perez, Florida

Paul Oosterbaan, Georgia

Ryotaro Matsumura, Kentucky

Justin Butsch, LSU

Jordan Daigle, LSU

Stefan Lindmark, Ole Miss

Rishab Agarwal, Mississippi State

Nuno Borges, Mississippi State

Gabriel Friedrich, South Carolina

Luis Valero, Tennessee

Cameron Klinger, Vanderbilt


Alfredo Perez, Florida

Walker Duncan, Georgia

Nuno Borges, Mississippi State

Mazen Osama, Alabama

Ryotaro Matsumura, Kentucky

Cameron Klinger, Vanderbilt

Player of the Year: Diego Hidalgo, Florida

Co-Freshman of the Year: Alfredo Perez, Florida / Ryotaro Matsumura, Kentucky

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Rishab Agarwal, Mississippi State

Coach of the Year: Bryan Shelton, Florida