The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Gators take finale 6-2 against LSU

1513 days ago
Florida Athletics
Photo: Florida Athletics

BATON ROUGE, La. -- Jonathan India hit a three run double in the fifth inning to power No. 1 Florida to a 6-2 win over No. 8 LSU on Saturday evening in the series finale. With the win, Florida won its 44th game of the year to finish the regular season with a school record 44 wins.

With Saturday's win, Florida (44-11, 19-10 SEC) secured the No. 4 seed in the upcoming Southeastern Conference Tournament and earned a first round bye. The Gators will play Wednesday night at 9 p.m. ET against the winner of Tuesday's LSU-Tennessee matchup.

India's three RBI double and two RBI from JJ Schwarz led the Florida offense while starter Alex Faedo picked up his 11th win of the season allowing two runs in 5.1 innings.

Florida looked motivated early after dropping the first two games of the series. After India was hit by a pitch, Schwarz lined a ball to the wall in left field for a RBI double for to give UF an early lead. Two batters later, Deacon Liput singled up the middle to bring home Schwarz for a 2-0 lead.

LSU responded in the bottom of the first. With one out, Jake Fraley got hold of a 1-2 pitch from Faedo and sent it into the right field seats to cut the Gators advantage to one run.

The Gators broke the game open in the fifth, scoring four runs on three hits to take a 6-1 lead. Jeremy Vasquez and Ryan Larson had back-to-back singles then Dalton Guthrie was hit by a pitch to load the bases with one out. India stepped to the plate and lined a pitch just inside third base to bring home all three runners. Schwarz then flied to center for his second RBI of the day as India tagged and scored from third.

LSU got one run back in the bottom of the inning with back-to-back extra base hits, but Faedo and Shaun Anderson closed the game out to secure the win. Anderson pitched 1.2 scoreless innings in relief.

Up Next

The Gators will head to Hoover as the No. 4 seed and play Wednesday night at 9 p.m. against either LSU or Tennessee.