The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Coaches tab Gamecocks as SEC women's basketball champs

2665 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Todd Van Emst

Birmingham, Ala. - South Carolina was predicted to win the 2017 Southeastern Conference women's basketball championship in a vote of the league's coaches. This is the third consecutive season the coaches have positioned the Gamecocks at the top of the league.

The Gamecocks enter the 2016-17 campaign as the three-time reigning SEC regular-season champions, including last season's perfect 16-0 league record. South Carolina is returning multiple All-Americans this season in senior center Alaina Coates and junior forward A'ja Wilson. South Carolina added five newcomers to the roster with the four freshmen ready to take the court this season, led by FIBA U18 Americas Championship gold medalist Tyasha Harris.

South Carolina tops the order of finish, with Mississippi State, Tennessee, Florida, Kentucky, Auburn and Missouri rounding out the top half the league. Texas A&M, Vanderbilt, Arkansas, LSU, Georgia, Alabama and Ole Miss round out the bottom half.

South Carolina's A'ja Wilson was voted as SEC Women's Basketball Preseason Player of the Year. Tennessee's Diamond DeShields also received votes.

Joining Wilson and DeShields on the All-SEC Preseason First Team are Jessica Jackson, Arkansas; Ronni Williams, Florida; Makayla Epps, Kentucky; Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State; Sophie Cunningham, Missouri; and Alaina Coates, South Carolina.

The Preseason Second Team All-SEC is comprised of Brandy Montgomery, Auburn; Eleanna Christinaki, Florida; Shandricka Sessom, Ole Miss; Dominique Dillingham, Mississippi State; Morgan William, Mississippi State; Mercedes Russell, Tennessee; Marqu'es Webb, Vanderbilt.

Each coach also voted for an eight-player All-SEC first team, an eight-player All-SEC second team and the Player of the Year. Coaches cannot vote for their own team or players and ties are not broken.

The 2017 season officially tips on Friday, November 11.

Preseason Coaches' Predictions

Order of Finish

  1. South Carolina
  2. Mississippi State
  3. Tennessee
  4. Florida
  5. Kentucky
  6. Auburn
  7. Missouri
  8. Texas A&M
  9. Vanderbilt
  10. Arkansas
  11. LSU
  12. Georgia
  13. Alabama
  14. Ole Miss

Player of the Year

  • A'ja Wilson, South Carolina

First Team All-SEC

  • Jessica Jackson, Arkansas
  • Ronni Williams, Florida
  • Makayla Epps, Kentucky
  • Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State
  • Sophie Cunningham, Missouri
  • A'ja Wilson, South Carolina
  • Alaina Coates, South Carolina
  • Diamond DeShields, Tennessee

Second Team All-SEC

  • Brandy Montgomery, Auburn
  • Eleanna Christinaki, Florida
  • Shandricka Sessom, Ole Miss
  • Dominique Dillingham, Mississippi State
  • Morgan William, Mississippi State
  • Mercedes Russell, Tennessee
  • Marqu'es Webb, Vanderbilt