The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC Legends to conduct Championship game coin toss

2153 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

SEC Championship Game Central

Birmingham, Ala. - The opening coin toss of the 25th SEC Championship Game will be conducted by former Alabama head coach Gene Stallings, former Florida head coach Steve Spurrier and former SEC Commissioner Roy Kramer, the SEC announced on Thursday.

Stallings and Spurrier were the two head coaches that participated in the first SEC Championship Game in 1992 at Legion Field in Birmingham, Ala., which saw Alabama win 28-21 after a late interception return for a touchdown by Antonio Langham, the MVP of the contest.

Kramer, the sixth Commissioner of the SEC, created the concept of the SEC Championship Game and led the SEC during the first 10 installments of the annual title game. Under NCAA regulations at that time, a conference with 12 members was allowed to play an additional football game to determine its champion, provided the regular season is played in divisions. The participants of the game are determined each year during the eight-game regular-season conference schedule as the teams with the best overall SEC winning percentage in each division.

ESPN Films featured the inaugural SEC Championship Game as part of the 'SEC Storied' franchise, titled 'The Play That Changed College Football', which can be viewed here.

The Eastern and Western Division winners will meet in Atlanta's Georgia Dome to battle for the league championship and the right to represent the conference in the College Football Playoff. The 25th-annual title game is set for December 3 and will be televised nationally by CBS Sports at 4 p.m. ET.

The SEC, along with AMB Sports & Entertainment (AMBSE) and the Georgia World Congress Center Authority (GWCCA), recently announced an agreement to host the SEC Championship Game at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta beginning in 2017 and continuing through 2026. The new agreement allows the SEC the option of adding up to two successive five-year extensions.

The Georgia Dome has hosted the SEC Championship Game for 22 years beginning in 1994, with capacity crowds in the last 20 consecutive years. By the end of the new agreement, including options, the Championship will have been played in Atlanta a total of 43 years. Mercedes-Benz Stadium is set to open in 2017, with 2016 set to be the final SEC Championship Game held in the Georgia Dome.