The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2017 SEC Women's Basketball Awards announced

1568 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Mizzou Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference announced its 2017 women's basketball postseason awards Tuesday, highlighted by Missouri's Robin Pingeton being named Coach of the Year.

South Carolina's A'ja Wilson was named Player of the Year for the second consecutive year and was named Freshman of the Year for the 2014-15 season.

LSU's Raigyne Moncrief was named Defensive Player of the Year while Mississippi State's Teaira McCowan was voted 6th Woman of the Year. Florida's Delicia Washington and Missouri's Amber Smith were named Co-Freshmen of the Year. It was only the second time co-freshman have been awarded. The first was 2009 with C'eira Ricketts (Arkansas) and LaSondra Barrett (LSU) being recognized. In addition, Katie Frerking was named Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

First-team and second-team All-SEC honorees, All-Freshman team, All-Defensive team, along with Player, Coach and Freshman, Defensive Player, 6th Player and Scholar-Athlete of the Year were chosen by the league's 14 coaches.

The complete 2017 SEC Women's Basketball Postseason Awards follow.

First Team All-SEC

  • Ronni Williams, Florida
  • Evelyn Akhator, Kentucky
  • Makayla Epps, Kentucky
  • Victoria Vivians, Mississppi State
  • Sophie Cunningham, Missouri
  • Alaina Coates, South Carolina
  • A'ja Wilson, South Carolina
  • Diamond DeShields, Tennessee

Second Team All-SEC

  • Katie Frerking, Auburn
  • Pachis Roberts, Georgia
  • Raigyne Moncrief, LSU
  • Morgan William, Mississippi State
  • Jaime Nared, Tennessee
  • Mercedes Russell, Tennessee
  • Khaalia Hillsman, Texas A&M
  • Curtyce Knox, Texas A&M
  • Danni Williams, Texas A&M


  • Ashley Knight, Alabama
  • Jordan Lewis, Alabama
  • Jailyn Mason, Arkansas
  • Delicia Washington, Florida
  • Amber Smith, Missouri
  • Tyasha Harris, South Carolina
  • Kayla Overbeck, Vanderbilt
  • Erin Whalen, Vanderbilt


  • Katie Frerking, Auburn
  • Caliya Robinson, Georgia
  • Raigyne Moncrief, LSU
  • Dominique Dillingham, Mississippi State
  • Alaina Coates, South Carolina
  • A'ja Wilson, South Carolina

Coach of the Year: Robin Pingeton, Missouri
Player of the Year: A'ja Wilson, South Carolina
Co-Freshmen of the Year: Delicia Washington, Florida / Amber Smith, Missouri
Defensive Player of the Year: Raigyne Moncrief, LSU
6th Woman of the Year: Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Katie Frerking, Auburn