The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Rebels win first SEC softball championship

1971 days ago
SEC Network
Photo: Ole Miss Athletics

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. -- For the first time in program history, the Ole Miss softball team has won an SEC championship, and they had to beat the most experienced tournament team in the SEC to do it.

"Three years ago I came here and I had a goal and that was to be relevant in the SEC," said Ole Miss head coach Mike Smith. "We just won the SEC championship. It's unbelievable. I want to go to Disneyland and Disney World. I've always wanted to say that."

No. 8 seed Ole Miss beat No. 6 seed LSU 5-1, hitting 12-for-29 (.414) versus the Tigers 5-for-24 (.208).

While the Rebels were in their first title game, LSU was playing in their 12th, fighting for their sixth championship.

Ole Miss RHP Kaitlin Lee pitched her way through all 28 innings across four games in the Rebels' tournament effort, including two complete games on the final day. Lee is the first championship-winning pitcher to throw every inning in the tournament since Alabama's Kelsi Dunne did it across 19 innings and three games in 2010.

"It was my shot to kind of shock the world," said Lee. "It was our shot to shock the world and I think we did that."

The Rebels are already looking forward to the NCAA tournament.

"This team is full of firsts and I don't think we're done yet so I think we're going to keep on keeping that on," said Lee. "For now, we beat all the big shots. What is there to lose now?"