The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Aggie men, Arkansas women win SEC Outdoor Championships

1909 days ago
Photo: SEC

Results I Quotes

COLUMBIA, S.C. (May 13, 2017) -- The Texas A&M men and Arkansas women claimed the 2017 Southeastern Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships Saturday at the University of South Carolina's Sheila & Morris Cregger Track.

The Aggie men won with 119 total points followed by Arkansas (106) in second and Alabama (103) in third.

The Arkansas women tallied 128 points followed by LSU (100) and Kentucky (81).

This marks the second SEC outdoor title for the Aggie men, seventh for the Arkansas women and their fourth in a row.

Tennessee's Christian Coleman (20.5) and Ole Miss' Janeah Stewart (20) won the men's and women's Commissioner's Trophies, given to the male and female high-points scorers at the SEC Outdoor Championship.

The individual male champions crowned Saturday include: Florida's KeAndre Bates in the triple jump (16.33m/53-7); Texas A&M's Audie Wyatt in the pole vault (5.32m/17-5.5); LSU's Donte Jackson, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake; Tinashe Mutanga and Jaron Flournoy in the 4x100 meter relay (38.71); Ole Miss' Craig Engels in the 1,500 meter run (3:52.90); Georgia's Devon Williams in the 110-meter hurdles (13.37); Georgia's Denzel Comenentia in the shot put (20.0m/65-7.5); Texas A&M's Fred Kerley in the 400-meter dash (44.30); Tennessee's Christian Coleman in the 100-meter dash (9.97); Texas A&M's Devin Dixon on the 800-meter run (1:45.71); Arkansas' Kemar Mowatt in the 400-meter hurdles (48.79), Tennessee's Christian Coleman in the 200-meter run (19.98); Ole Miss' MJ Erb in the 5,000-meter run (13:47.64); and Texas A&M's Richard Rose, Fred Kerley, Robert Grant and Mylik Kerley in the 4x400-meter relay (3:00.72). 

The individual female champions crowned Saturday were: LSU's Rebekah Wales in the javelin (58.23m/191-0); Missouri's Gabi Jacobs in the discus (56.58m/185-7); Georgia's Tatiana Gusin in the high jump (1.88m/6-2); LSU's Mikiah Brisco, Kortnei Johnson, Jada Martina and Aleia Hobbs in the 4x100-meter relay (42.56); Arkansas' Nikki Hiltz in the 1,500 meter run (4:17.94); Arkansas' Daina Harper in the 400-meter dash (52.16); Jazmine Fray in the 800-meter run (2:02.00); South Carolina's Tyler Brockington in the 400-meter hurdles (55.97); Florida's Kyra Jefferson in the 200-meter run (22.74); Missouri's Karissa Schweizer in the 5,000-meter run (15:51.76); and Texas A&M's Briyahna Desrosiers, Kadecia Baird, Jazmine Fray and Jaevin Reed in the 4x400-meter relay (3:29.83)

Individual champions crowned Friday include: Missouri's Ja'Mari Ward in the men's long jump (8.13m/26-8.25), Ole Miss' Brian Williams in the men's discus throw (65.13m/213-8), Florida's Lloydricia Cameron in the women's shot put (16.92m/55-6.25), Arkansas' Lexi Weeks in the women's pole vault (4.45m/14-7.25), Alabama's Quanesha Burks in the women's long jump (6.82m/22-4.5), Ole Miss' MJ Erb in the men's 3,000-meter steeplechase (8:48.07) and Kentucky's Katy Kunc in the women's 3,000-meter steeplechase (10:02.95).

Individual champions crowned Thursday were: Georgia's Denzel Comenentia in the men's hammer (71.40m/234-3), Georgia's Beatrice Llano in the women's hammer (65.55m/215-0), Texas A&M's Ioannis Kyriazis in the men's javelin (80.15m/262-11, meet record), Alabama's Alfred Chelanga in the men's 10,000 meter-run (30:25.24), and Missouri's Jamie Kempfer in the women's 10,000-meter run (33:52.19).

Texas A&M's Lindon Victor set a collegiate record with 8,539 points to win the heptathlon, while Arkansas' Taliyah Brooks claimed the decathlon title with 6,099 points.

Men's Team Standings 1. Texas A&M (119); 2. Arkansas (106); 3. Alabama (103); 4. Florida (81.5); 5. Georgia (75); 6. Ole Miss (67); 7. LSU (57); 8. South Carolina (46); 9. Tennessee (45.5); 9. Auburn (45.5); 11. Kentucky (31.5); 12. Missouri (28); 13. Mississippi State (14).

Women's Team Standings 1. Arkansas (128); 2. LSU (100); 3. Kentucky (81); 4. Georgia (77); 5. Florida (76); 6. Texas A&M (72); 7. Alabama (57) 8. Ole Miss (47.5); 9. Missouri (47); 10. Auburn (42); 11. South Carolina (27); 11. Tennessee (27); 13. Mississippi State (24); 14. Vanderbilt (13.5).