The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Coaches tab Gamecocks as 2018 SEC WBB Champion

2157 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Todd van Emst

Birmingham, Ala. - South Carolina was predicted to win the 2018 Southeastern Conference women's basketball championship in a vote of the league's coaches. This is the fourth consecutive season the coaches have positioned the Gamecocks at the top of the league.

The Gamecocks enter the 2017-18 campaign as the reigning national champion and the four-time reigning SEC regular-season champions. South Carolina returns two starters in A'ja Wilson and Tyasha Harris among its six letterwinners, including senior guard Bianca Cuevas-Moore. Head coach Dawn Staley also adds a pair of transfers with Alexis Jennings and Lindsey Spann. Staley also added a trio of freshmen who will look to shape the Gamecocks' season success.

South Carolina tops the order of finish, with Mississippi State, Missouri, Texas A&M, Tennessee, Kentucky, and LSU rounding out the top half the league. Georgia, Alabama, Vanderbilt, Auburn, Ole Miss, Florida and Arkansas round out the bottom half.

South Carolina's A'ja Wilson was voted as SEC Women's Basketball Preseason Player of the Year. Mississippi State's Victoria Vivians also received votes.

Joining Wilson and Vivians on the All-SEC Preseason First Team are Raigyne (Moncrief) Louis, LSU; Morgan William, Mississippi State; Sophie Cunningham, Missouri; Jaime Nared, Tennessee; Mercedes Russell, Tennessee; and Khaalia Hillsman, Texas A&M.

The Preseason Second Team All-SEC is comprised of Caliya Robinson, Georgia; Taylor Murray, Kentucky; Shandricka Sessom, Ole Miss; Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State; Cierra Porter, Missouri; Jordan Frericks, Missouri; Tyasha Harris, South Carolina; Anriel Howard, Texas A&M and Danni Williams, Texas A&M.

Coaches cannot vote for their own team or players and ties are not broken, which led to a nine on the second team.

The 2018 season officially tips on Friday, November 10.

Preseason Coaches' Predictions

Order of Finish

  1. South Carolina
  2. Mississippi State
  3. Missouri
  4. Texas A&M
  5. Tennessee
  6. Kentucky
  7. LSU
  8. Georgia
  9. Alabama
  10. Vanderbilt
  11. Auburn
  12. Ole Miss
  13. Florida
  14. Arkansas

Player of the Year
A'ja Wilson, South Carolina

First Team All-SEC
Raigyne Louis, LSU
Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State
Morgan William, Mississippi State
Sophie Cunningham, Missouri
A'ja Wilson, South Carolina
Jaime Nared, Tennessee
Mercedes Russell, Tennessee
Khaalia Hillsman, Texas A&M

Second Team All-SEC
Caliya Robinson, Georgia
Taylor Murray, Kentucky
Shandricka Sessom, Ole Miss
Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State
Cierra Porter, Missouri
Jordan Frericks, Missouri
Tyasha Harris, South Carolina
Anriel Howard, Texas A&M
Danni Williams, Texas A&M