The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC has four Wuerffel Trophy semifinalists

2300 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Four football student-athletes from the Southeastern Conference are among 11 semifinalists for the Wuerffel Trophy, it was announced Thursday. The SEC leads all conferences with its four semifinalists.

The Wuerffel Trophy is presented to the college football player who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

Arkansas' Frank Ragnow, Auburn's Daniel Carlson, Kentucky's Courtney Love and Vanderbilt's Tommy Openshaw were named semifinalists for the award.

The 2017 Wuerffel Trophy winner will be invited to attend "The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show" on ESPNU and ESPN3 on Dec. 7, 2017, airing at 5 p.m. CST, featuring interviews with award winners and finalists as they approach The Home Depot College Football Awards Show, the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in downtown Atlanta, Georgia.

The presentation of the 2017 Wuerffel Trophy will occur at the 49th Annual All Sports Association Awards Banquet on Feb. 16, 2018, in Fort Walton Beach, Florida.

Past winners of the Wuerffel Trophy are: Rudy Niswanger (LSU-2005), Joel Penton (Ohio State-2006), Paul Smith (Tulsa-2007), Tim Tebow (Florida-2008), Tim Hiller (W. Michigan-2009), Sam Acho (Texas-2010), Barrett Jones (Alabama-2011), Matt Barkley (USC-2012), Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma-2013), Deterrian Shackelford (Ole Miss-2014), Ty Darlington (Oklahoma-2015) and Trevor Knight (Texas A&M-2016). The Wuerffel Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 23 awards boast more than 800 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

2017 Wuerffel Trophy Semifinalists
Blaise Taylor, Arkansas State University, senior, defensive back
Daniel Carlson, Auburn University, senior, kicker
Gabe Brandner, Duke University, senior, offensive line
Brent Stocksll, Middle Tennessee State University, junior, quarterback
A.J. Cole, III, North Carolina State University, junior, punter
Harrison Phillips, Stanford University, senior, defensive line
Frank Ragnow, University of Arkansas, senior, offensive line
Courtney Love, University of Kentucky, senior, linebacker
Drue Tranquill, University of Notre Dame, senior, linebacker
Brian O'Neill, University of Pittsburgh, junior, offensive line
Tommy Openshaw, Vanderbilt University, senior, kicker