The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2018 SEC men's basketball preseason teams announced

1170 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Florida Athletics

Birmingham, Ala. - The Southeastern Conference unveiled its 14th annual men's basketball coaches preseason All-SEC first and second teams Friday, tipping off the 2017-18 season.

Thirteen different schools are represented on the two teams with Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Kentucky, Ole Miss and Texas A&M having two selections each. In all, 40 different players received votes for the coaches' teams.

The coaches' preseason All-SEC first and second teams consist of a minimum of eight players on each squad, voted on by the SEC Head Men's Basketball Coaches. No ties were broken and no predicted order of finish was made.

The 2017-18 season officially tip off this evening with 13 SEC teams in action. Conference play is set to begin on December 30 and the 2018 SEC Tournament will be March 7-11 at Scottrade Center in St. Louis, Mo.

A list of the 2018 SEC Men's Basketball Coaches Preseason All-SEC team follows:

First Team All-SEC
KeVaughn Allen - Florida
Yante Maten - Georgia
Kevin Knox - Kentucky
Deandre Burnett - Ole Miss
Quinndary Weatherspoon - Mississippi St.
Michael Porter, Jr. - Missouri
Tyler Davis - Texas A&M
Robert Williams - Texas A&M
Matthew Fisher-Davis - Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC
Braxton Key - Alabama
Collin Sexton - Alabama
Jaylen Barford - Arkansas
Daryl Macon - Arkansas
Mustapha Heron - Auburn
Chris Chiozza - Florida
Terence Davis - Ole Miss
Hamidou Diallo - Kentucky
Chris Silva - South Carolina
Grant Williams - Tennessee