The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Officers elected for SEC Football Leadership Council

1449 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- LSU's Blake Ferguson and South Carolina's Bryson Allen-Williams have been elected Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, of the Southeastern Conference Football Leadership Council.

Ferguson and Allen-Williams were selected by a vote of their peers at a meeting of the Council last weekend at SEC headquarters in Birmingham. The pair will attend a portion of the meeting of the SEC's Athletics Directors in March and the Conference's Spring Meetings in May and June.

SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey introduced new Student-Athlete Leadership Councils in 2016 for the sports of football and men's and women's basketball which, in addition to the conference's longstanding Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC), provide student-athletes with additional opportunities to engage with campus leaders and conference office staff. The councils, which consist of one representative from each institution, serve as a conduit of communication to the conference office on issues related to student-athlete experience and student-athlete wellness.

A member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll, Ferguson has served as the LSU long snapper for the last two seasons. This is his first year as a member of the SEC Football Leadership Council. Allen-Williams was selected to represent South Carolina on the Council for the second consecutive year. He was second on the team in tackles in 2016 and missed most of the 2017 season with a season-ending injury.

During its recent meeting, the group reviewed NCAA and SEC legislative items, discussed a number of topics submitted by members of the Council, and engaged with football officials on rules of the game and student-athlete/referee interaction. Marcus Spears, SEC Network analyst and former SEC football student-athlete, also met with the group to discuss leadership and career development.