The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Aggie women, Gator men win SEC Championships

1743 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC Staff

Live Results

COLLEGE STATION, Texas - The Florida men and Texas A&M women are the winners of the 2018 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships at Texas A&M's Rec Center Natatorium.

The Aggies earned their third consecutive SEC title in women's swimming & diving with a final score of 1,319 points. Georgia came in second with 1,030 points. The Gators won its sixth consecutive and 39th overall title in men's swimming & diving with a total score of 1,237 points. Texas A&M finished second with 994 points.

For the individual awards, Florida's Caeleb Dressel, Tennessee's Erika Brown and Texas A&M's Sydney Pickrem earned the SEC Commissioner's Trophy as the high-point scorers of the meet. Dressel and Brown were also named the Men's and Women's Swimmers of the Meet. Juan Celaya Hernandez of LSU was chosen as the Men's Diver of the Meet, and Brooke Schultz of Arkansas was selected as the Women's Diver of the Meet.

Courtney Harnish of Georgia won the women's 1650 free as with a time of 15:57.68. Taylor Ault of Florida came in second at 16:03.36, and Olivia Anderson of Georgia placed third with a time of 16:03.36.

Akaram Mahmoud earned a first-place finish in the men's 1650 free for the third consecutive year with a time of 14:37.01. Jacob Wielinski of Missouri claimed second place with a time of 14:44.24, while Blake Manganiello of Florida took third with a time of 14:46.19.

Asia Seidt of Kentucky defended her title in the women's 200 back with a time of 1:49.65. Lisa Bratton of Texas A&M (1:49.83) and Ali Galyer of Kentucky (1:50.63) took second and third place, respectively.

Christopher Reid of Alabama also defended his title in the men's 200 back with his time of 1:39.42. Javier Acevedo of Georgia placed second (1:40.11), and Hugo Gonzalez of Auburn came in third (1:40.82).

Brown became the SEC Champion in the women's 100 free with her top time of 47.17. Veronica Burchill of Georgia took second with a time of 47.66. Alyssa Tetzloff of Auburn placed third with a time of 47.96.

In his final individual swim, Dressel won the men's 100 freestyle for the third consecutive year with his SEC meet record time of 40.01. The next two podium spots went to Auburn, with Peter Holoda in second (41.78) and Zachary Apple in third (41.91).

Texas A&M went 1-2-3 in the women's 200 breaststroke. Pickrem finished first for the second consecutive year with an SEC meet record time of 2:04.62, Anna Belousova came in second at 2:05.08, and Bethany Galat took third with a time of 2:06.77.

The gold medal in the men's 200 breaststroke went to Mark Szaranek of Florida, who finished with a time of 1:51.86. Mauro Castillo of Texas A&M took second with a time of 1:52.15, and Nils Wich-Glasen of South Carolina came in third with a time of 1:53.53.

Alais Kalonji of Texas A&M captured first place in the women's platform diving with a final score of 308.70. Rachel Rubadue of Tennessee recorded 295.65 points to earn second place, and Madeline McKernan of Missouri took third with 287.70 points.

In the 400 free relays, Auburn won the women's event with a time of 3:12.64, while Florida won the men's race with a time of 2:47.06.

2018 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships - Day Five (Feb. 18 - College Station, Texas)

Men's Team Results:

1. Florida 1237

2. Texas A&M 994

3. Georgia 975.5

4. Tennessee 899

5. Missouri 794.5

6. Auburn 791.5

7. South Carolina 765 

8. Alabama 661.5

9. Kentucky 575.5

10. LSU 430.5

Women's Team Results:

1. Texas A&M 1319

2. Georgia 1030

3. Tennessee 950.5

4. Kentucky 877.5

5. Auburn 770

6. Missouri 739

7. Florida 619

8. South Carolina 591

9. Alabama 539

10. Arkansas 461

11. LSU 374

12. Vanderbilt 182