The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Arkansas wins SEC Women's Golf Championship

1531 days ago
SEC Staff

HOOVER, Ala.-----No. 2-ranked Arkansas won its first Southeastern Conference women's golf championship by defeating No. 9 South Carolina 3-2 in the match play final Sunday at Greystone's Legacy Course.

This week marked the first time the championship featured match play. The tournament began on Tuesday with the first of three days of stroke play. Eight teams advanced to the match play portion of the championship. South Carolina finished first in stroke play and was seeded first, while Arkansas was the No. 3 seed.

Arkansas' Maria Fassi defeated Anita Uwadia 2&1 to give the Razorbacks their first point, then South Carolina tied the match when Marion Veysseyre topped Cara Goriel.

Dylan Kim gave Arkansas a 2-1 lead with her win over Lois Kaye Go, then the match was all-square after Ana Pelaez edged Alana Uriell in a sudden death playoff. Soon thereafter, however, Kaylee Benton beat Ainhoa Olarra to clinch the title for the Razorbacks.

Arkansas coach Shauna Taylor became the first to win the SEC women's golf crown as both a coach and a player. She won the SEC individual title in 1997 and 1999 and was a member of three Georgia teams that won the SEC championship in 1997, 1998 and 1999.

This marked the sixth consecutive year for the SEC Championship to be contested at the Greystone Golf and Country Club. For the first time the final day was televised live on the SEC Network.

The NCAA Regional selections will be announced on Wednesday.