The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Gators win SEC Softball Tournament

1511 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Christina Long | Mizzou Athletics

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- No. 1 seed Florida defeated No. 3 seed South Carolina 3-1 to win its fourth SEC Softball Tournament title and first since 2013.

Florida is the first team since 2014 to win both the SEC regular-season and tournament championships in the same year.

"I think it comes down to our seniors," said Florida head coach Tim Walton. "The four seniors we have, have been the rock and our foundation. They had never won the SEC Tournament championship and they put that on their list of things they wanted to accomplish. I give them a lot of credit for buying in and working really hard and making this special."

SEC Player of the Year Amanda Lorenz came up clutch by blasting her 10th home run of the season in the third to give Florida a 3-1 advantage. Lorenz is the third player in conference history to win Player of the Year and tournament Most Valuable Player in the same season and the first one since 2001.

The Gators had to rally for the win, as the Gamecocks struck early in the first. Kenzi Maguire hit a double in the leadoff spot and a sacrifice fly by Cayla Drotar later in the inning brought Maguire across to put South Carolina on the board.

Florida senior Aleshia Ocasio (20-6) pitched a complete game, striking out three and giving up only two hits. Freshman Kelsey Oh (13-5) was in the circle for five innings for South Carolina, giving up the home run and throwing four strikeouts.

"This conference is a tough conference to play in," said Ocasio. "It's an honor to be in this conference and it's an honor to have won this conference championship and this season championship. I'm really excited about what this team did."

The Gators improved to 50-8 while the Gamecocks fell to 45-14.

2018 SEC All-Tournament Team

Caylan Arnold, Tennessee
Nicole DeWitt, Florida
Cayla Drotar, South Carolina
Tiara Duffy, South Carolina
Meghan Gregg, Tennessee
Mary Haff, Arkansas
Amanda Lorenz, Florida
Aleshia Ocasio, Florida
Dixie Raley, South Carolina
Katie Warrick, Arkansas
Janell Wheaton, Florida
Tournament MVP: Amanda Lorenz, Florida

The NCAA Softball Championship Selection Special airs Sunday at 10 p.m. ET on ESPN2.