The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Arkansas men, Ole Miss women lead after Day 2

1850 days ago
Photo: SEC

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. (May 12, 2018)-----The Arkansas men and the Ole Miss women hold the team leads entering the final day of competition at the 2018 Southeastern Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships held at the Tom Black Track and LaPorte Stadium on the campus of the University of Tennessee.

The Arkansas men lead the team standings with 39 total team points, while Texas A&M is second with 35 and Florida is third with 34. Alabama is fourth with 33, followed by Georgia (30), Auburn (18), Kentucky (18), Mississippi State (16), Tennessee (15), South Carolina (11), Ole Miss (11), Missouri (6) and LSU (6).

The Ole Miss women lead the team standings with 50 points, while Texas A&M is second with 42 and Florida is third with 37. Tennessee has 25, followed by Georgia (22), Alabama (22), Auburn (18), Missouri (17), Mississippi State (13), Arkansas (11), South Carolina (10) and Kentucky (6).

Georgia's Karl Saluri tallied 7,934 points to win the heptathlon, while Texas A&M's Tyra Gittens won the heptathlon with 6,074 points.

Individual champions crowned Saturday include: Grant Holloway of Florida in the men's long jump (8.32m/27-3.75), Avione Allgood of Florida in the women's javelin (55.40m/181-9), Denzel Comenentia of Georgia in the men's shot put (20.88m/68-8), Keturah Orji of Georgia in the women's long jump (6.81m/22-4.25) and Ole Miss' Janeah Stewart in the women's shot put (17.97m/58-11.5).

Individual champions crowned Friday were: Georgia's Denzel Comenentia in the men's hammer (75.92m/249-1, meet record), Tennessee's Stamatia Scarvelis in the women's hammer (66.19m/217-2), Mississippi State's Anderson Peters in the men's javelin (82.04m/269-2, meet record), Alabama's Vincent Kiprop in the men's 10,000 meter-run (29:16.64), and Missouri's Megan Cunningham in the women's 10,000-meter run (33:47.05).

The SEC Outdoor Championships conclude on Sunday with action beginning at 2:30 p.m. ET. Tickets are available for purchase at the gate.

Men's Team Standings: 1. Arkansas (39); 2. Texas A&M (35); 3. Florida (34); 4. Alabama (33); 5. Georgia (30); T6. Auburn (18); T6. Kentucky (18); 8. Mississippi State (16); 9. Tennessee (15); T10. South Carolina (11); T10. Ole Miss (11); T12. Missouri (6); T12. LSU (6).

Women's Team Standings: 1. Ole Miss (50); 2. Texas A&M (42); 3. Florida (37); 4. Tennessee (25); T5. Georgia (22); T5. Alabama (22); 7. Auburn (18); 8. Missouri (17); 9. Mississippi State (13); 10. Arkansas (11); 11. South Carolina (10); 12. Kentucky (6).