The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

CFP Foundation and SEC partnership honors teachers

228 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

IRVING, Texas - The College Football Playoff (CFP) Foundation has once again partnered with the Southeastern Conference (SEC) to recognize teachers through the CFP Foundation's Extra Yard for Teachers platform.

The SEC worked with its 14 institutions to identify student-athletes who have had a teacher that greatly impacted his or her life. Each of the educators will be honored through a testimonial by the respective student-athlete which will air on SEC Nation, the SEC Network's traveling pregame show, throughout the regular season. The student-athlete video tributes will also be featured weekly on social media.

In addition, each teacher's school will receive a $10,000 grant from the CFP Foundation and SEC to use towards the purchase of classroom supplies and materials. Each of the teachers are from the 11-state footprint of the SEC.

"The Southeastern Conference has been an extraordinary partner in our efforts to elevate the teaching profession since we began the CFP Foundation five years ago," said CFP Foundation Executive Director Britton Banowsky. "The examples of positive influence that teachers have on their students is incredible. We look forward to watching the conference and the SEC Network bring these stories to life each week this season. We thank the SEC and its member schools for their amazing support."

This year's participants are listed below.

AlabamaCidavia HallVolleyballAnthony ChildersDothan High School
Dothan, AL
ArkansasRaven Northcross-BakerWomen's BasketballCourtney CooperMalvern High School
Malvern, AR
AuburnJosh FrenchFootballNidia Fernandez-LeeShades Valley High School
Irondale, AL
FloridaAustin LangworthyBaseballBobbie Jo GowlandWilliston High School
Willison, FL
GeorgiaJenna StaitiWomen's BasketballTamara HalesVickery Creek Elementary School
Cumming, GA
KentuckHannah CarrRifleScott EllisWoodford County High School
Versailles, KY
LSUDevin WhiteFootballAmetrica JonesNorth Webster Upper Elementary
Cotton Valley, LA
Ole MissD.C DavisMen's BasketballDana D. JonesPurvis High School
Purvis, MS
Mississippi StateMyah TaylorWomen's BasketballJennifer GiaconeOlive Branch High School
Olive Branch, MS
MissouriDrew LockFootballStacy AllisonLee's Summit High School
Lee Summit, MO
South CarolinaDonell StanleyFootballRachel CaulderLatta High School
Latta, SC
TennesseeSalera JordanWomen's SoccerMelissa NolanClarksville High School
Clarksville, TN
Texas A&MSeth PageMen's Track & FieldAlexia AlexopoulosFort Bend Elkins High School
Missouri City, TX
VanderbiltPaola EllisWomen's SoccerChad BeckerHouston High School
Germantown, TN

"The Southeastern Conference is proud to continue its association with the College Football Playoff Foundation and the opportunity to recognize outstanding teachers who have made a significant impact on the lives of our student-athletes," said SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey. "Education is a pillar of the SEC's community outreach efforts, and through the Extra Yard for Teachers initiative the SEC is able to honor and support the important work conducted in classrooms across our footprint."

For more information about the CFP Foundation, visit


About the College Football Playoff Foundation and Extra Yard for Teachers
The College Football Playoff (CFP) Foundation is the philanthropic arm of the College Football Playoff, supporting education across the country. The CFP Foundation's cause primary platform, Extra Yard for Teachers, is dedicated to elevating the teaching profession by inspiring and empowering teachers in four focus areas: resources, recognition, recruitment and professional development. The CFP Foundation utilizes multiple partnerships to execute its initiatives and support positive educational outcomes. To learn more, visit and follow Extra Yard for Teachers (@CFPExtraYard) on social media.

About the Southeastern Conference
A pioneer in the integration of higher education and athletic competition, the Southeastern Conference is a leader on the national landscape for intercollegiate athletics in the 21st century. Since its formation in 1933, the SEC has achieved stature and stability by designating governing/voting power to the presidents of the member institutions. These university leaders determine the policies of the conference and through the years this involvement has been the principal source of strength in the evolution of the SEC. Throughout its history, the SEC has provided leadership on the vital issues facing intercollegiate competition. Alabama, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, LSU, Mississippi, Mississippi State, Tennessee and Vanderbilt have been in the SEC since its formation in 1933. The league has expanded twice, adding Arkansas and South Carolina in 1991, then Missouri and Texas A&M in 2012.

Extra Yard for Teachers Videos