The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Ole Miss, Arkansas win SEC Cross Country Championships

1946 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Ole Miss Athletics

Men's Final Results | Women's Final Results

AUBURN, Ala. -- The Ole Miss men's cross country team and the Arkansas women's cross country team won the 2018 Southeastern Conference Championships Friday morning at Indian Pines Golf Course.

This marks the first SEC crown for the Ole Miss men, while Arkansas won its sixth straight women's title and 19th overall.

Arkansas' Gilbert Boit claimed the men's individual 8K title with a time of 22:20.02, while Alabama's Alfred Chelanga was second in 22:27.6 and Cameron Griffith of Arkansas was third in 22:51.3. Florida's Jessica Pascoe took home the women's 6K title in 18:55.0, ahead of Arkansas' Katrina Robinson (19:00.09) and Lauren Gregory (19:07.9).

Ole Miss won the men's title with 36 points, followed by Arkansas with 44, Kentucky with 122, Tennessee with 132 and Missouri with 135 to round out the top-five.

"We've tried to do this a number of times, and the experiences from the past, learning from mistakes, making adjustments and executing our race plan perfectly was the difference today," Ole Miss coach Ryan Vanhoy said. "It would be a mistake for me to not mention all of the guys who came before. We've had a lot of really good athletes who came through in the last four or five years who tried and tried, but kept coming up short. Those guys definitely set the stage for our first one. I hate that they didn't get one, but the reason we won this has a lot to do with what they did in the past."

The Arkansas women won with 24 points, finishing ahead of Florida (69), Ole Miss (116), Georgia (144) and fifth place Missouri (149).

Said Arkansas head coach Lance Harter: "To be able to put as many as we did in the top-ten just shows our firepower. I think if we can use this as a rehearsal for regionals, a rehearsal for the things we want to do at the National Meet, we're well on our way."

NCAA Cross Country Regionals take place Friday, Nov. 9 at various sites.

2018 SEC Cross Country Championship Results (Auburn, Ala. - Oct. 26, 2018)

Men's Team Results: 1. Ole Miss (36); 2. Arkansas (44); 3. Kentucky (122); 4. Tennessee (132); 5. Missouri (135); 6. Alabama (166); 7. Texas A&M (170); 8. Florida (184); 9. Georgia (190); 10. Auburn (266); 11. Vanderbilt (291); LSU (335).

Women's Team Results: 1. Arkansas (24); 2. Florida (69); 3. Ole Miss (116); 4. Georgia (144); 5. Missouri (149); 6. Vanderbilt (181); 7. Tennessee (197); 8. Kentucky (242); 9. Alabama (242); 10. Texas A&M (260); 11. LSU (275); 12. Mississippi State (277); 13. South Carolina (333); 14. Auburn (349).

Men's Top-10 Finishers
1. Gilbert Boit, Arkansas (22:20.2)
2. Alfred Chelanga, Alabama (22:27.6)
3. Cameron Griffith, Arkansas (22:51.3)
4. Waleed Suliman, Ole Miss (22:59.4)
5. Ben Young, Kentucky (23:03.6)
6. Cade Bethmann, Ole Miss (23:05.0)
7. Mario Garcia Romo, Ole Miss (23:07.0)
8. Farah Abdulkarim, Ole Miss (23:08.7)
9. Ryan Murphy, Arkansas (23:10.8)
10. Kieran Wood, Missouri (23:13.1)

Women's Top-10 Finishers
1. Jessica Pascoe, Florida (18:55.0)
2. Katrina Robinson, Arkansas (19:00.9)
3. Lauren Gregory, Arkansas (19:07.9)
4. Carina Viljoen, Arkansas (19:10.2)
5. Joyce Kimeli, Auburn (19:21.7)
6. Taylor Werner, Arkansas (19:22.2)
7. Jessica Drop, Georgia (19:26.6)
8. Elisabeth Bergh, Florida (19:37.3)
9. Sydney Brown, Arkansas (19:43.8)
10. Maddy Reed, Arkansas (19:43.8)

Men's First Team All-SEC
Gilbert Boit, Arkansas
Alfred Chelanga, Alabama
Cameron Griffith, Arkansas
Waleed Suliman, Ole Miss
Ben Young, Kentucky
Cade Bethmann, Ole Miss
Mario Garcia Romo, Ole Miss

Men's Second Team All-SEC
Farah Abdulkarim, Ole Miss
Ryan Murphy, Arkansas
Kieran Wood, Missouri
Mark Robertson, Ole Miss
Thomas George, Missouri
Silas Kipngetich, Auburn
Ethan Moehn, Arkansas

Men's Freshman All-SEC
Cade Bethmann, Ole Miss
Mario Garcia Romo, Ole Miss
Ryan Murphy, Arkansas
Silas Kipngetich, Auburn
Karl Thiessen, Tennessee
Patrick Schafer, Kentucky
Sam Bowers, Georgia

Women's First Team All-SEC
Jessica Pascoe, Florida
Katrina Robinson, Arkansas
Lauren Gregory, Arkansas
Carina Viljoen, Arkansas
Joyce Kimeli, Auburn
Taylor Werner, Arkansas
Jessica Drop, Georgia

Women's Second Team All-SEC
Elisabeth Bergh, Florida
Sydney Brown, Arkansas
Maddy Reed, Arkansas
Morgan Hull, Florida
Clio Ozanne-Jaques, Ole Miss
Tori Findley, Missouri
Katie Thronson, Tennessee

Women's Freshman All-SEC
Katrina Robinson, Arkansas
Tori Findley, Missouri
Katie Thronson, Tennessee
Reilly Revord, Missouri
Lisa Vogelgesang, Ole Miss
Haley Walker, Vanderbilt
Mikayla Reed, Missouri

Florida's Jessica Pascoe, SEC Women's Individual Champion
"We've been so used to the heat, so coming to the nice, cool weather felt great. It's awesome to win the SEC championship. It's been a great run with the team this year. Florida's coming."

Arkansas' Gilbert Boit, SEC Men's Individual Champion
"I was ready for the course today. We ran a similar course earlier this year. We've been working hard as a team. I'm proud of my team and myself for winning the SEC championship."