The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC sends nine teams to NCAA Soccer Tournament

229 days ago
Photo: Jimmy Mitchell

The SEC tied its record with nine SEC teams highlighting the field of 64 that will be competing for the 37th NCAA Division I Women's Soccer Championship.

Tennessee earned a No. 2 national seed while South Carolina and Texas A&M are No. 3 seeds. Joining the Volunteers, Gamecocks, and Aggies in the field are Arkansas, Auburn, LSU, Ole Miss, Mississippi State and Vanderbilt.

The nine selections ties the SEC record which was accomplished last season. This marks the 11th time in the last 12 seasons that the SEC has had at least six teams advance to postseason play.

Eight of the nine teams earned the right to host their opening round match on their home pitch.

All preliminary-round competition will take place at campus sites. First-round games will be played Nov. 9, 10 and 11. Second- and third-round games will be played Friday, Nov. 16 and Sunday, Nov. 18, and Quarterfinal games will be played Nov. 23 or 24. The Women's College Cup will be played Nov. 30 and Dec. 2 at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, N.C.

Arkansas is competing in the NCAA Tournament for the fifth time in the last six years. The Razorbacks have gone unbeaten at home during the regular season for the first time in school history are one win shy of tying the school record for home wins in a season.

Auburn earned its 16th NCAA Tournament bid and its fifth in a row. The Tigers have turned in nine shutouts this season which is tied for the fourth most in a single-season in program history.

LSU received the SEC's automatic NCAA Tournament bid after outlasting Arkansas in penalty kicks in the SEC Tournament championship game yesterday. The Tigers are making their sixth NCAA Tournament appearance and first since 2015.

Ole Miss returns to NCAA play for the second year in a row and eighth time overall. Senior midfielder CeCe Kizer became just the second player since 2005 to lead the SEC in both goals (13) and assists (8) during the regular season.

Mississippi State is making it's first-ever NCAA Tournament appearance. The Bulldogs entered the season with a roster that was tied for the most freshmen in the conference.

South Carolina is making its 11th trip to the NCAA Tournament in the last 12 years. The Gamecocks, who are led by SEC Defensive Player of the Year Grace Fisk, advanced to the semifinals of the College Cup last season

Tennessee is making its 12th NCAA Tournament appearance after finishing second in the SEC with a 7-2-1 conference record. The Volunteers, who are led by SEC Offensive Player of the Year Bunny Shaw, are making back-to-back NCAA appearances for the first time since 2011 and 2012.

Texas A&M is one of four teams to make it to every NCAA Tournament since 1995, a streak of 24 consecutive years. Aggie head coach G Guerrieri ranks among the leaders in victories (fourth with 456) and winning percentage (sixth with 74.8 percent) among active Division I coaches.

Vanderbilt earned its second consecutive NCAA Tournament and ninth overall after winning the 2018 SEC championship with an 8-1-1 league record. The Commodores are led by SEC Coach of the Year Darren Ambrose and SEC Freshman of the Year Haley Hopkins.

First Round NCAA Tournament Matchups (all times Eastern)

Friday, Nov. 9
Minnesota at Auburn 4:00 p.m.
Lipscomb at Mississippi State 5:00 p.m.
Louisville at #2 Tennessee 6:00 p.m.
UNC Greensboro at #3 South Carolina 6:00 p.m.
North Texas at #3 Texas A&M 8:00 p.m.
Little Rock at Arkansas 8:00 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 10
Ole Miss at Clemson 6:00 p.m.
Murray State at Vanderbilt 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, Nov. 11
Boston U. at LSU 2:00 p.m.