The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC runners set for NCAA Cross Country Championships

433 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Arkansas Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Five Southeastern Conference cross country programs will compete in the NCAA Cross Country Championships Saturday, Nov. 17 at the Thomas Zimmer Championship Cross Country Course in Madison, Wis.

The women's 6k race is slated for a 9:45 a.m. CT start, while the men's 10k will begin at 11:45 a.m.

Arkansas and Ole Miss will compete in the men's race. The Razorbacks and Rebels earned automatic bids by placing first in their respective NCAA Regionals last week.

The SEC will have three teams in the women's race. Arkansas won the NCAA South Central Regional, while Florida and Ole Miss finished second and third, respectively, in the NCAA South Regional. The Razorbacks and Gators were automatic qualifiers to the NCAA Championships, while Ole Miss earned an at-large bid.

Five SEC runners qualified individually to the NCAA Championships: Alfred Chelanga (Alabama) and Zach Long (Tennessee) in the men's 10k and Joyce Kimeli (Auburn), Jessica Drop (Georgia) and Megan Murray (Tennessee) in the women's 6k.

The SEC has won eight NCAA Men's Cross Country Championships, with Arkansas claiming seven and Tennessee winning one. The last SEC NCAA Championship came in 2000, with Arkansas winning its third consecutive crown.

The SEC has won one NCAA Women's Cross Country Championship, with Kentucky holding the only title, which the Wildcats won in 1988.

The SEC boasts two NCAA Cross Country individual titles, as Godfrey Siamusiye of Arkansas won back-to-back national crowns in 1995 and 1996.

Missouri's Karrisa Schweizer won the SEC's first women's NCAA cross country title in 2016.