The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC Student-Athlete Advisory Council to meet

385 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Twenty-eight members of the Southeastern Conference Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) will meet Friday and Saturday at the SEC offices in Birmingham.

The purpose of the SEC SAAC is to provide student-athletes with additional opportunities to engage with campus leaders and conference office staff. Additional councils with similar purposes were introduced by the Conference in 2016 for football and men's and women's basketball. Each council convenes annually, and a joint meeting is held during the summer. The SEC Football Leadership Council conducted its two-day meeting last weekend, and the basketball councils meet during the fall.

Agenda items for the SEC SAAC meeting include a presentation on leadership by Growing Leaders, Inc., a conversation with SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey, a review of NCAA and SEC legislative items with SEC Assistant Commissioner Matt Boyer, and an open discussion on various topics facilitated by Misty Brown, SEC Director of Student-Athlete Engagement. The group will also elect officers at the end of its meeting.

Student-athletes scheduled to attend the meeting include: Kat Rogers (Alabama soccer), Taylor Beitz (Arkansas soccer), Landon Ernst (Arkansas men's golf), Abigail Meadows (Auburn soccer), Bill Taylor (Auburn football), Addie Baggarly (Florida women's golf), Rachel Kramer (Florida volleyball), Katie Higgins (Georgia soccer), Ryan Peppenhorst (Georgia cross country), Zoe Collins (Kentucky women's golf), Jacob Cook (Kentucky men's golf), Harrison Martingayle (LSU cross country), Milan Stokes (LSU volleyball), Myles Hartsfield (Ole Miss football), Gabby Little (Ole Miss soccer), Kanani Price (Mississippi State volleyball), Kody Schexnayder (Mississippi State football), Jacob Bohlken (Missouri wrestling), Riley Sents (Missouri volleyball), Jack Parrott (South Carolina men's golf), Simone Wark (South Carolina soccer), Maddy Banic (Tennessee women's swimming and diving), Brianna Leverenz (Tennessee women's swimming and diving), Riley Lovingood (Tennessee football), Jake Gibbons (Texas A&M men's swimming and diving), Maddy Stulce (Texas A&M women's track and field), Mary Beckwith (Vanderbilt women's swimming) and Namilla Sanchez (Vanderbilt women's swimming).