The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Alabama men, women leading SEC Championships

942 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Walt Beazley

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (Feb. 22, 2019) -- The Alabama men's and Alabama women's teams lead the 2019 Southeastern Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships following the first day of competition here Friday at Randal Tyson Track Center.

The Alabama men currently lead the team standings with 38 points while LSU is second with 36 points. Arkansas is third with 26, followed by Florida (24), Georgia (22), Ole Miss (22), Tennessee (21), Texas A&M (17), South Carolina (11), Kentucky (8), Missouri (4), Mississippi State (3) and Auburn (2).

The Alabama women currently lead the team standings with 35 points while Arkansas is second with 30 points, and Florida and Texas A&M are tied for third with 19. Georgia (16) stands fifth, followed by Auburn (14), Missouri (13), Ole Miss (13), LSU (9), Tennessee (5), Mississippi State (4), South Carolina (4) and Vanderbilt (1).

Individual champions crowned

Arkansas junior Kelsey Herman won the women's pentathlon with 4,330 points. She is the fifth Razorback to win the pentathlon and second in a row (Taliyah Brooks).

Other women's champions crowned on Friday included: Arkansas' Taylor Werner in the 5,000 meters (16:18.39), her second SEC indoor crown in the 5,000 meters; Florida senior Yanis Davis in the long jump (6.46m/21-2.5); and Alabama's Portious Warren in the shot put (17.30m/56-9.25).

Arkansas won the women's distance medley relay in 11:21.98.

Men's champions from Friday were LSU freshman Mondo Duplantis in the pole vault (5.92m/19-5); LSU junior Rayvon Grey in the long jump (7.86m/25-9.5); Arkansas junior Gilbert Boit in the 5,000 meters (14:09.84); and LSU's JuVaughn Harrison in the high jump (2.28m/7-5.75).

Ole Miss won the men's distance medley relay with a time of 9:43.91.

Duplantis sets NCAA record

Duplantis' mark of 5.92m in the pole vault set an NCAA record. The previous SEC Championship record was 5.70m/18-8.25 by Lawrence Johnson of Tennessee in 1994. Duplantis is LSU's first SEC indoor pole vault champion since 2004.


Arkansas' Gabe Moore leads the heptathlon with 3,329 total points. He placed first in the shot put (15.07m/49-5.5) and high jump (2.01m/6-7) on Friday. Georgia's Johannes Erm is second with 3,296 points, while Texas A&M Nathan Hite stands third with 3,149 points.

Saturday's schedule, SECN+ coverage

The SEC Indoor Track and Field Championships conclude Saturday with action set to begin at 10:45 a.m. CT in the men's heptathlon. Field events begin at 1 p.m., while running events are scheduled for a 3 p.m. start. The meet will air live on SECN+ at 2:55 p.m. CT. Live results are available at