The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Gators, Aggies extend dynasties in the pool

1751 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC Staff

Athens, Ga. - The Florida men and Texas A&M women are the winners of the 2019 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships, held at Georgia's Gabrielsen Natatorium.

The Aggies earned their fourth consecutive SEC title in women's swimming & diving with a final score of 1,107 points. Florida came in second with 1,023.50 points. The Gators won their seventh consecutive and 40th overall title in men's swimming & diving with a total score of 1,233 points. Missouri finished second with 1,137 points.

The Commissioner's Trophy, which is awarded to the student-athletes who score the most individual points at the championships, went to Erika Brown of Tennessee and Robert Howard of Alabama. Howard is the fifth Alabama student-athlete to win this award and the first since 1991. Brown previously earned a share of this honor last season when she became the third Lady Vol in program history to win the award.

Brown and Howard were also named the SEC Swimmers of the Meet. Colin Zeng of Tennessee and Brooke Schultz of Arkansas were selected as the SEC Divers of the Meet.

The Florida freshmen swept the 1650 freestyle events, as Leah Braswell won the women's with a time of 15:53.54 and Robert Finke won the men' with an SEC meet record time of 14:23.01, the fourth fastest time ever by an NCAA swimmer.

Asia Seidt of Kentucky won her third consecutive SEC title in the women's 200 back, touching the wall first with a time of 1:49.31. Fellow Wildcat Ali Galyer placed second (1:50.39), while Erin Falconer of Auburn took third (1:51.57).

Joey Reilman of Tennessee earned the top spot in the men's 200 back with his time of 1:38.97. Shaine Casas of Texas A&M placed second (1:39.84), and Clark Beach of Florida came in third (1:39.95).

Brown defended her title in the women's 100 free with her SEC meet record time of 46.41. Second place went to Anna Hopkin of Arkansas at 47.10. Veronica Burchill of Georgia took third with a time of 47.30.

Robert Howard swam the second fastest time in the nation this season to win the men's 100 freestyle (41.57). Kyle Decoursey of Tennessee came in second (41.71), and Maxime Rooney of Florida placed third (41.74).

Texas A&M went 1-2 in the women's 200 breaststroke as Anna Belousova finished first at 2:04.80 and Sydney Pickrem came in second at 2:04.89. Third place went to Bailey Bonnett of Kentucky with a time of 2:07.19.

Benjamin Walker of Texas A&M won the gold medal in the men's 200 breaststroke with a time of 1:52.55. Second place went to James Guest of Georgia (1:53.11) and third to Grant Sanders of Florida (1:53.36).

Zeng captured first place in the men's platform with a final score of 452.25. Chase Lane of Kentucky recorded 424.65 points to earn second place, and Juan Celaya Hernandez of LSU took third with 409.35 points.

In the 400 free relays, Auburn won the women's event with an SEC meet record time of 3:10.45, while Alabama won the men's race with a time of 2:48.52 to close out the meet.

2019 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships - Day Five (Feb. 23 - Athens, Ga.)

Saturday's Final Results:

Women's Team Results

Place Team Score
1. Texas A&M 1107
2. Florida 1023.50
3. Kentucky 927.50
4. Tennessee 919.50
5. Georgia 883.50
6. Auburn 883
7. Missouri 640
8. Arkansas 517
9. South Carolina 515
10. LSU 489.50
11. Alabama 429.50
12. Vanderbilt 153

Men's Team Results

Place Team Score
1. Florida 1233
2. Missouri 1137
3. Tennessee 917
4. Texas A&M 907
5. Georgia 862.50
6. Alabama 789.50
7. Kentucky 672
8. Auburn 661.50
9. South Carolina 565
10. LSU 486.50