The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Seven SEC women's basketball teams earn NCAA bids

444 days ago
Photo: SEC Staff

Seven SEC teams earned bids to the 2019 NCAA Women's Basketball Tournament. This makes a nation leading 12 times that seven SEC teams have been invited to the NCAA Tournament (1986, 1991, 1995, 1996, 1997, 2003, 2004, 2009, 2013, 2014, 2018, 2019). The SEC leads all conferences in all-time NCAA Tournament bids with 241.

Mississippi State is a No. 1 seed for the second consecutive year and will host first- and second-round games. South Carolina and Texas A&M as four seeds will also host the early rounds, with the Gamecocks playing in Charlotte due to their home court being unavailable.

Tennessee continues its appearance streak, participating in all 38 NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championships since its inception in 1982, the only team to do so.

First- and second-round games will be played at 16 home sites Friday, March 22 through Monday, March 25, with the 16 second-round winners moving on to the four regional sites. The Albany Regional (Times Union Center, Albany N.Y.) and the Portland Regional (Moda Center, Portland, Ore.) will be played Friday, March 29 and Sunday, March 31, while the Greensboro Regional (Greensboro Coliseum, Greensboro, N.C.) and the Chicago Regional (Wintrust Arena, Chicago, Ill.) will be held Saturday, March 30 and Monday, April 1. The four regional winners will advance to the 2019 NCAA Women's Final Four, April 5 and April 7 in Tampa (Amalie Arena).

In the 38-year history of the NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship, 14 schools have captured the national title, including the eight by Tennessee.

2019 NCAA Women's Basketball Tournament - First Round Games

Date Game Location Region First Round Time
Fri/Sun No. 16 seed Southern at No. 1 seed Mississippi State Starkville Portland 8:30 p.m. CT
Fri/Sun No. 13 seed Belmont vs. No. 4 seed South Carolina Charlotte Greensboro 1:45 p.m. ET
Fri/Sun No. 13 seed Wright State at No. 4 seed Texas A&M College Station Chicago 3:30 p.m. CT
Fri/Sun No. 10 seed Drake vs. No. 7 seed Missouri Iowa City Greensboro 3:00 p.m. CT
Sat/Mon No. 11 seed Tennessee vs. No. 6 seed UCLA College Park Albany 1:30 p.m. ET
Sat/Mon No. 11 seed Princeton vs. No. 6 seed Kentucky at Raleigh Greensboro 11:00 a.m. ET
Sat/Mon No. 10 seed Auburn vs. No. 7 seed BYU Stanford Chicago 12:30 p.m. PT