The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

LSU men, Arkansas women claim SEC outdoor titles

1663 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC Staff

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (May 11, 2019) -- The LSU men and the Arkansas women claimed the 2019 Southeastern Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships Saturday at the University of Arkansas' John McDonnell Field.

LSU won with 105 total points, followed by Florida (95), Arkansas (91), Texas A&M (86.5), Alabama (77), Kentucky (72.5), Tennessee (68), Mississippi State (57), Georgia (43), South Carolina (41), Ole Miss (34), Missouri (32) and Auburn (17).

The Arkansas women won with 139.5 points, followed by Texas A&M (85), Kentucky (84), LSU (83), Florida (69), Alabama (69), Missouri (53), Auburn (46), Tennessee (46.5), Georgia (42.5), Mississippi State (37), Ole Miss (31.5), South Carolina (23) and Vanderbilt (11).

This marks the 23rd title for the LSU men and the eighth for the Arkansas women.

Georgia's Denzel Comenentia claimed the men's Commissioner's Trophy with 26 points for the second year in a row as the high points scorer for all male competitors. Tennessee's Stamatia Scarvelis won the women's Commissioner's Trophy with her 23 points.

Individual champions crowned

Individual champions crowned on Saturday were: Alabama's Kord Ferguson in the men's discus (59.70m/195-10); Missouri's Gabi Jacobs in the women's discus (58.22m/191-0); LSU's Christian Miller in the men's triple jump (16.16m/53-25); LSU in the men's 4x100 meter relay (38.85); LSU in the women's 4x100 meter relay (42.93); Ole Miss' Waleed Suliman in the men's 1500m (3:47.64); Florida's Imogen Barrett in the women's 1500m (4:17.29); Kentucky's Daniel Roberts in the men's 110m hurdles (13.07; SEC Championship record); Arkansas' Janeek Brown in the women's 100m hurdles (12.55); South Carolina's Quincy Hall in the men's 400m (44.60); Arkansas' Kethlin Campbell in the women's 400m (51:03); Florida's Hakim Sani Brown in the men's 100m (9.99); LSU's Sha'Carri Richardson in the women's 100m (11.00); Florida's Yanis David in the women's triple jump with an SEC Championship record 14.35m/47-1; Texas A&M's Devin Dixon with an SEC Championship record time of 1:44.76 in the men's 800m; Texas A&M's Jazmine Fray in the women's 800m (2:03.50); Kentucky's Ellen Ekholm in the women's high jump (1.82m/5-11.5); Texas A&M's Infinite Tucker in the men's 400m hurdles (49.38); LSU's Jurnee Woodward in the women's 400m hurdles (56.77); Tennessee's Mustaqeem Williams in the men's 200m (20.31); LSU's Sha'Carri Richardson in the women's 200m (22.57); Arkansas' Gilbert Boit in the men's 5,000m (13:54.46); Arkansas' Taylor Werner in the women's 5,000m (15:51.08); LSU's Mondo Duplantis with a collegiate record 6.00m in the men's pole vault; Arkansas in the women's 4x400 meter relay (3:29.22); and Texas A&M in the men's 4x400 meter relay (3:01.77).

Individual champions crowned Friday were: Tennessee's Stamatia Scarvelis in the women's hammer throw (68.32m/224-4); Florida's Yanis David in the women's long jump (6.65m/21-10); LSU's JuVaughn Harrison in the men's high jump (2.24m/7-4.25); Georgia Denzel Comenentia in the men's shot put (19.99m/65-7); Vanderbilt's Kristen Denk in the women's pole vault (4.36m/14-3.5); Missouri's Ja'Mar Ward (8.10m/26-7); Alabama's Portious Warren in the women's shot put (17.36m/56-11.5); Tennessee's Alex Crigger in the men's 3000m steeplechase (8:47.85); and Arkansas' Devin Clark in the women's 3000m steeplechase (9:55.86).

Texas A&M's Nathan Hite won the men's decathlon with 7,468 points, while Amanda Froeynes of Florida won the women's heptathlon with 5,801 total points.

Thursday's individual winners were: Florida's Thomas Mardal in the men's hammer (73.00m/239-6), Auburn's Kylee Carter in the women's javelin (55.26m/181-3), Mississippi State's Anderson Peters in the men's javelin with an SEC Championship record 83.35m/273-5, Alabama's Gilbert Kigen in the men's 10,000m (29:27.77) and Florida's Jessica Pascoe in the women's 10,000m (34:08.41).