The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC to hold joint SAAC, Leadership Council meeting

215 days ago
Photo: SEC Staff

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. --- A total of 68 Southeastern Conference student-athletes will participate in a joint meeting of the SEC Student-Athlete Leadership Councils and the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) Friday and Saturday in Birmingham.

This marks the third joint meeting of these groups since they were introduced in 2016. Leadership councils for the sports of football and men's and women's basketball were created to provide student-athletes with additional opportunities to engage with campus leaders and conference office staff.

The two-day meeting will begin with an open discussion with SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey on Friday followed by a presentation on leadership and perseverance by Thaddeus Bullard, WWE's Titus O'Neil. Dr. Rob Bell, certified sports psychologist and SEC alum will meet with the group on Saturday, and the six Leadership Council chairs and vice chairs will provide an update from SEC Spring Meetings. These six student-athletes participated in various meetings and provided institutional leaders feedback on the student-athlete experience and offered input on proposed SEC and NCAA legislation at the Conference's annual meetings earlier this year.

In other agenda items, SEC Assistant Commissioner Matt Boyer will discuss SEC & NCAA approved legislation for the 2019-20 academic year, and SAAC representatives will present programming ideas from their respective campuses. The meeting will conclude on Saturday with a session on career development with best-selling author Will Baggett and a review of SEC & NCAA scholarship and personal development opportunities with SEC Director of Student-Athlete Engagement Misty Brown. Student-athletes scheduled to attend the meeting are: Kat Rogers (Alabama soccer), Alize Ford (Alabama track and field), Jordan Lewis (Alabama women's basketball), Tyler Barnes (Alabama men's basketball), Chris Owens (Alabama football), Lauren Evans (Arkansas volleyball), Jordan Silver (Arkansas football), Jailyn Mason (Arkansas women's basketball), Adrio Bailey (Arkansas men's basketball), Grant Morgan (Arkansas football), Derrick Brown (Auburn football), Allie Riddle (Auburn gymnastics), Kiyae White (Auburn women's basketball), Anfernee McLemore (Auburn men's basketball), K.J. Britt (Auburn football), Amara Wiggan (Florida track and field), Tori Bindi (Florida swimming and diving), Kiki Smith (Florida women's basketball), Dontay Bassett (Florida men's basketball), Trey Dean (Florida football), Hayden Merrick (Georgia track and field), Ryan Peppenhourst (Georgia cross country), Ari Henderson (Georgia women's basketball), Rayshaun Hammonds (Georgia men's basketball), Monty Rice (Georgia football), Glen Brown (Kentucky swimming and diving), Kendyl Paris (Kentucky volleyball), Jaida Roper (Kentucky women's basketball), Immanuel Quickley (Kentucky men's basketball), Jordan Griffin (Kentucky football), Braden Nyboer (LSU swimming and diving), Milan Stokes (LSU volleyball), Jaelyn Richard-Harris (LSU women's basketball), Skylar Mays (LSU men's basketball), Blake Ferguson (LSU football), Milicia Reid (Ole Miss women's basketball), Breein Tyree (Ole Miss men's basketball), Mohamed Sanogo (Ole Miss football), Gabrielle Little (Ole Miss soccer), McCarthy Brown (Ole Miss football), Makayla Waldner (Mississippi State soccer), Kody Schexnayder (Mississippi State football), Tate Clayton (Mississippi State men's basketball), Darryl Williams (Mississippi State football), Riley Sents (Missouri volleyball), Jakob Wirthwein (Missouri track and field), Jordan Chavis (Missouri women's basketball), Mitchell Smith (Missouri men's basketball), Larry Rountree (Missouri football), Franky Harrison (South Carolina beach volleyball), Darrell Singleton (South Carolina track and field), Laeticia Amihere (South Carolina women's basketball), TJ Moss (South Carolina men's basketball), Ryan Hilinski (South Carolina football), Madison Graham (Tennessee swimming and diving), Ryan Johnson (Tennessee football), Kamera Harris (Tennessee women's basketball), John Fulkerson (Tennessee men's basketball), Rachel Bernardo (Texas A&M cross country), Jake Gibbons (Texas A&M swimming and diving), Ciera Johnson (Texas A&M women's basketball), Josh Nebo (Texas A&M men's basketball), Keeath Magee (Texas A&M football), Namilla Sanchez (Vanderbilt swimming), Harrison Thomas (Vanderbilt cross country), Jordyn Cambridge (Vanderbilt women's basketball), Saben Lee (Vanderbilt men's basketball) and Cody Markel (Vanderbilt football).